Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Lexington, MA
Students enrolled: 1,951

3 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lexington High School 3

Posted December 01, 2014
- a community member
I am an current student at lhs. It is extremely stressful and the pressure is on. Kids easily fall into stress, anxiety, and depression. Some teachers barely know how to teach properly and effectively. However, the student body is extremely welcoming, friendly, and sometimes has the typical high school cliques. The health department and guidance department are both home to some of the best people in the school. The student needs to have to confidence and willingness to talk and reach out, not to fall down softly(or hard). It's a big school. Just need to get used to it. Though lhs is tough, there are wonderful teachers and some that aren't so great. You just have to get lucky.

Lexington High School 5

Posted May 03, 2013
- a community member
It's funny that most of the negative reviews are also ungrammatical. This suggests, unsurprisingly, that the parents' education level will have some bearing on their perception of this school.


Lexington High School 2

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
We moved to historic and expensive Lexington, MA for the famous school system. The middle schools are great. However, the high school is a major disappointment. Half of the honors/AP teachers can not or would not teach. Our AP Bio and Honor's Algebra 2 teachers are so bad that everyone complains but the department heads defend them and berate the parents and kids. LHS is great ONLY because of the great parent and student body. If you have an average kid and not the money to hire a tutor, your child may sink and nobody would notice.

Lexington High School 1

Posted December 03, 2012
- a parent
Terrible school. doesn't know how to take care of its students. the worst school ever. nightmare.

Lexington High School 5

Posted November 03, 2011
- a student
LHS offers great competition in classes that encourage students to work harder. Most classes are challenging and interesting, and most teachers are great. There is very little bullying. I love LHS


Lexington High School 5

Posted January 22, 2011
- a parent
This is a great atmosphere for learning and advancing in my child's studies. I am greatly impressed by the friendly staff and their willingness to help any student in need. It is a great school!

Lexington High School 4

Posted December 17, 2010
- a parent
LHS is a great school and success depends on how much work the student wants to take on. There should be more support for high performers who are serious about their education and future. Even if a kid gets all A's, there is little direction given to ensure that he/she is taking all of the steps necessary in a timely way to prepare for college. I have been told by Guidance to just go to the college board web site for college planning. With so many smart kids, the school needs to help them stand out so that they are competitive with kids falling in the top 10% of lower ranking public schools in the area. Although necessary, Guidance seems to focus on the bad behavior in the schools, and not enough attention is given to the kids at the top.

Lexington High School 4

Posted June 04, 2010
- a student
I am a junior in Lexington High School and I take all honors and AP courses except for one level one course. Lexington High School is made up of kids in three categories: the achievers, the average students, and the slackers. Most of my classmates would be classified as achievers because they understand that LHS is a highly competitive school and one must be in the top 10-20% to get into a top college. The average students also understand that good grades are necessary to get into a good college, but they just don't try as hard. Like every school, there will be slackers (as well as drug users and smokers). Many of the kids in my level one class would fall under the slacker category. As for the teachers, most of the honors and AP teachers are pretty good. Many of the level 1 teachers are below par though.


Lexington High School 2

Posted March 31, 2010
- a parent
LHS in little way lives up to its reputation. As an average student with above average IQ- my son fell through the cracks. Repeated requests for testing/support for his learning difficulties fell on deaf ears. Fruitless communication with teacher to improve in a failing a courses he was proficient in at his previous schools- met with smug reply that Lexington holds to a higher standard. In fact the teacher was novice, his classmates were rambunctious and entitled creating a chaotic environment for learning- and there was no follow up or mediation to resolve and actually HELP my son. l Later I learned my son was being harassed and intimidated by classmates and this went unaddressed. LHS has a serious, and acknowledged problem with drug use- further alienating kids who choose not to partake. Only reason for 2 stars is great guidance. Terrible progress notes through out year, so no partnership with

Lexington High School 1

Posted March 05, 2010
- a parent
LHS has been a disappointment for me and my kid. It's too big and unwelcoming; it seems unaccepting of kids who don't fit into particular categories; it's an academic grind that most often than not, teaches to the tests; and there has been huge teacher turnover so there are many inexperienced teachers afoot. It is hard to know what my kid's experience would have been elsewhere, but it has been a very inhospitable experience for my child. I regret subjecting my kid to such an unpleasant experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lexington High School
251 Waltham St, Lexington, MA  02421
(781) 861-2320
Last modified Lexington High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lexington High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top