Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Carroll School

Private | 1-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lincoln

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $775,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2014

Carroll school is a special place. Any child with LD and /or ADD it would be a gift for them to be able to attend. No other school does what Carroll does. They get "our" kids and best is they cherish them like you do. Make it happen for your kid. It is not ok that they are beat up emotionally in the public school system. They are on the cutting edge of research.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

My son started at Carroll 5 months ago and we couldn't be happier. What a nurturing and kind setting. I am amazed at the job they do. I will always be grateful for their services.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

Carroll is resting on past laurels. Teachers are disengaged, math is not taught, kids don't learn organization, and there is no monitoring of recess behavior. In whole, the program is desultory, unimaginative, and second rate. The only benefit to Carroll is that kids get some 1:1 tutoring. After multiple years and multiple kids, I have given up on the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

Carroll school refused entry to my child, which is fine , except the reasons were they refused to used a FM system, my child is hard of hearing and dyslexic, i gave them all kinds of information to help understand him, never thinking they would use this against him, I do wonder if i was a private paying , how this would have had and influence on their decision
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

If you are lucky enough to get in... you are then blessed with the most wonderful kind and nurturing teachers (did I mention Highly qualified) your child will ever know. It is the 'Best' education for a LD child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

My son came to Carroll in third grade and is now in fourth. Before Carroll, he had excellent teachers, significant support and intervention, yet still could not learn or navigate the school day. He was overwhelmed. The Carroll environment facilitates student success and independence. His stress level is now at a normal level. He believes in himself and is learning to self advocate and to learn more independently. His skills are improving. The culture at The Carroll School promotes a love of learning. Significant time is spent on the students' area of need (reading and writing), but the students are also able to learn through the arts, outdoors and in teams using explicit, multisensory methods. The Parent's Association is strong and welcoming. Parents and administrators seek to connect parents, students and teachers to build a strong supportive community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

My son went to Carroll for two years in Middle School. In addition to solidifying his reading skills, he got a great boost to his overall academic confidence. He is now a college freshman majoring in computer science and doing well, thanks to Carroll.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2006

This is our first year with a third grader. He went from not want to do homework and reading to the complete opposite in the first two weeks of attending The Carrol School. I personally attend a lot of meetings that the school provides. If you do not ask questions you will not get answers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2005

My son was there from grades 3-5. He now reads and loves learning. One of the things he learned at Carroll was how to advocate with his teachers for his learning needs. He has been an 'A' student since moving back to public school. His experience at Carroll was a god sent for our family. Homework is never an issue any more. It was well worth the tuition expense. Education dollars well spent... No regrets. As for fund raising... all private school education costs more than tuitions cover(hard to believe but true). If you can give... every little bit helps. Carroll uses every penny for wonderful educational opportunties. Where can a child experience small classes, one on one tutoring, bounders, wood shop, drama and more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

I have two children ages 9 and 13 at The Carroll School. Both children were failing and misserable in public school; both children are now thriving, happy and making great academic progress. Like any school, the key to sucess is communication. At Carroll, small class size and gifted, dedicated faculty make that connection possible. One of the things I like best about Carroll is its responsiveness to my childrens' unique learning styles, and the school's willingess to be flexible. Because of Carroll, I know that my children are acquiring the skills, strategies and confidence they need to reach their potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2005

I am very undecided on Carroll thus far into my child's first year. Maybe we were over sold on the wonders it would do for our child, but my feelings now are mixed, would be very interested to know how other parents are feeling. Not enough outreach as to what our child is doing, but they has been plenty of out reach for financial fund raising.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 67%
Two or more races 30% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hispanic 2% 16%
Black 1% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Stephen Wilkins
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

25 Baker Bridge Road
Lincoln, MA 01773
Website: Click here
Phone: (781) 259-8342

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lincoln School
Lincoln, MA


Birches School
Lincoln, MA



Alcott
Concord, MA


Bartlett School
Waltham, MA


Bartlett School
Waltham, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT