Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Meadow School

Private | PK-8 | 225 students

We are best known for Montessori education.

 

Living in Littleton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $331,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 2, 2014

My two boys, currently in 4th and 7th grade, began at Oak Meadow at age 3. In preschool they were free to explore and grow guided by the warm teachers. They were able to work at their own pace. The older, early reader was encouraged to read beyond suggested reading levels and the younger, who had an early love of numbers and math, was working with hands on Montessori manipulatives that gave him a real understanding of math concepts traditionally taught at the elementary level and higher! Even though we live in a town with very highly rated schools (Acton, Ma) we decided that the individual approach to learning at Oak Meadow was more suited to our sons than one that teaches to the test and promotes little more than rote fact memorization to be forgotten as soon as the test is over. We have definitely made the right decision to stay at OMS. My kids have learned how to learn, have been allowed to fail, and have become resilient and self motivated. My seventh grader is challenged by a very rigorous curriculum and is being thoroughly prepared for his high school years and beyond. My fourth grader is engaged, sprinted and creative. The best thing is, though, that they both love school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

Oak Meadow provides students with an engaging educational journey beginning as a preschooler and continuing through grade 8. The guided, interactive instruction, promoting curiosity and critical thinking in a collaborative learning environment, is a testament to the timelessness of the Montessori philosophy and how "following the child" is exemplary for adolescent development. The faculty, staff and administration at OMS are nurturing and dedicated professionals. The school community-at-large is warm and welcoming. Oak Meadow is one of the best investment decisions my husband and I have made for our daughters! They are happy, confident, compassionate, life-long learners with a strong knowledge base to appropriately support them in future endeavors into their adulthood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

Oak Meadow is a wonderful environment for children from 3 years to 8th grade and their parents. The Montessori philosophy guides each child and builds confidence, character, life long learners and true citizens of the world at each program level. The community is extraordinary and diverse and a joy to be a part of. Graduates are well prepared and ready for the world! Thank you Oak Meadow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

A year ago I spent some time observing this school for professional reasons, and while I was there I witnessed what the best single class I have seen in forty years in and around independent school classrooms: engaged students, brilliantly creative work the students were being asked to do, a teacher gently and subtly guiding middle school students to depths of insight and heights of creative problem-solving the likes of which teachers dream of. I was blown away, as I was by everything else I observed at the school. Oak Meadow is a place that ignites and sustains the curiosity and engagement of kids at every level; the Montessori roots keep children at the center and shape intellectually stimulating and challenging tasks and projects for kids at every level. I have continued, proudly, to maintain my connection with the school as a volunteer; sadly, my own kids are in college, as I would have been pleased to have them live and learn at Oak Meadow.


Posted February 24, 2014

Exceptional education. This nurturing environment has taught my child how to learn, not just how to memorize facts. This has made him into a passionate student and a proud member of the Oak Meadow Community. He has built a confidence that allows him to preserver through any challenge. The teachers take a genuine interest in the child's complete development and they foster a courteous, caring environment. Children are encouraged to be curios, explore and get excited about the world they live in and learn about. When I look at area schools, I have yet to find a school that offers such rich programs, coupled with a collegial setting and such caring, professional, dedicated staff. Your child is greeted every morning with a warm handshake by the Head of School, parents are always involved because they love the school, and children are happily buzzing about, even grandparents are regular supporters in the school community. I can't imagine my child anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

Great school, coming from a public school. My child has ADD issues and is a challenge, but the teachers are very caring and supportive. I highly recommend this institution for their patience, the strength of the education and the sense of community the school fosters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

I have been associated with Oak Meadow as both a parent and teacher for several years and have nothing but praise for the quality of students, parents, faculty, administration, and staff. All schools go through administrative, faculty, and family changes. Over the years Oak Meadow has only grown stronger. Oak Meadow is academically strong but just as important is the social and emotion development of the students. Oak Meadow is a caring, nurturing community. It has been a like a second family. The best gift the school gave my son was the ability to be comfortable in his own skin. My recommendation to anyone interested in Oak Meadow is to come visit and see for yourself,
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2013

Oak Meadow has really fallen flat. What was once a great school is losing students in droves. Many of the fabulous teachers have left as well as the wonderful Head and Asst Head of school. We have spoken to many families and lamented that this school is not what it once was. The pay scale for the teachers is very much on the lower end and that is contributing to the declining quality of the education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 12, 2013

Oak Meadow in a nutshell: * Tremendous, motivated teachers with strong Montessori ethos * Dynamic, supportive administration * Diverse, well-educated, involved parental community. In sum, look no further for a wonderful opportunity for your child to grow in deeply resourced environs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2013

This is our second year at Oak Meadow; we have two children in kindergarten. We have been thrilled with our experience at every level. We are grateful for the caring, talented teachers; involved and communicative administration; and a warm, welcoming, active community of parents and students. Our boys are doing academic work far beyond anything I ever expected at this level (multiplication, for example) and love it. Equally as important, they are benefiting enormously from the caring, generous, peaceful culture of their classroom and the school as a whole. I'm thrilled with their social and emotional development and I can see a direct relationship to Oak Meadow, and the values it inculcates. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

Oak Meadow is as vibrant as ever, all the way through middle school. My children have all attended and now attend different schools as the next step in their development. There were no issues in transitioning from a Montessori environment, and our children are very self motivated and self directed due to the responsibility they were given at a very young age. No wonder those creative Google founders are of Montessori origin! We are grateful to have had this educational choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2012

Middle schools spanish- superb. Middle school Math- superb. Middle school science- great. However...my student has learned waaay more about Marx than Washington. They sing peace songs instead of get grades. Was told North Korea was a wonderful place. During a parent teacher conference i was lectured about white guilt and told to donate money to american indians. Often closed on Fridays for ambiguous reasons. None of these are fabrications.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

I have two children that have moved up through the Oak Meadow academic structure. The curriculum becomes better at each level and I have never been disappointed with the academic rigor of the program. My children are gaining the hands-on experiential learning experiences that are vital for success in the STEM disciplines. I am thrilled with the quality and breadth of the education they receive at Oak Meadow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

I wouldn't enroll my child anywhere else! Oak Meadow's program has been fabulous for her growing needs. Not yet 5 years old, she loves counting and learning more complex mat concepts. She can always be found writing in her journal and sounding out lists of words and phrases. More than that, she is developing social skills and grace and courtesy lessons that are so important when relating to others. Thank you Oak Meadow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

Our twins are in preschool at Oak Meadow. We could not be more thrilled with the school. The teachers are highly experienced, loving, compassionate, patient, and excellent at parent communication as well. The entire school community has been incredibly warm and welcoming; it's an extremely diverse, friendly, down-to-earth place. We are highly impressed with the quality of education our kids are receiving, and we're really excited by what we see the older kids doing. Though we never intended to keep our kids in private school, we are so in love with Oak Meadow that we are considering it. No stars for principal leadership, as we are in transition at the moment and it seems inappropriate. However, I've been impressed with how the school has handled the transition. The interim head is a strong and dynamic leader, the search process has been transparent and open, and I have confidence that we'll wind up with an excellent new head of school. The parent community seems committed and involved to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I've been a parent at Oak Meadow for 8 years and the school has been through a lot of challenges and changes. It is better than ever with a strong head of school who has directed a very successful capital campaign to build an amazing addition to the school (plus extensive renovations). There's a great sense of community and the academics are top notch. It's a very diverse school considering it's in the suburbs of Boston. Many teachers have been there for years and know and love the school and the children really well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

Excellent teachers, best school head and an amazing environment! i wish it becomes a high school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 69%
Asian 19% 5%
Two or more races 9% 2%
Black 1% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 15%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Bill Perrine
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AISNE
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (978) 486-3269

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Established in 1977, Oak Meadow Montessori School provides a challenging education to over 260 students age three through grade eight who reside in towns north and west of Boston. Oak Meadow encourages students to achieve their personal best while cultivating each child’s innate passion for learning.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
70
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
75

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2 Old Pickard Ln
Littleton, MA 01460
Website: Click here
Phone: (978) 486-9874

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Alpha Omega
Littleton, MA




Col John Robinson
Westford, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT