Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Longmeadow, MA
Students enrolled: 96
Before care: Yes
After care: No

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a teacher
LYA is a special school where you can sense the feeling of teamwork and family throughout the school. LYA staff members help instill a sense of pride and understanding of the role of that we play in our Jewish community and the world at large. As an employee of LYA, I see the dedication of the rest of the staff and how they come together to provide a safe and welcoming environment for all students.

Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
Yeshiva is warm and nurturing environment. The love for their students is obvious in all their interactions with the students. I feel that my children are incredibly lucky to begin their education in a place where they feel valued.


Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a community member
LYA is truly a school for the children and future leaders of the world. In everyday practice as well as words, this school emphasizes the development of morals and upstanding character traits as well as being the most dedicated school educationally. Each student is encouraged to pursue their personal best, and there is no limit to what the staff will do to support a student's educational challenges. Advanced learners are stimulated and not held to the lowest common denomination in the 'dumbing down' mode that appears to be a side effect of the public school inclusion programs. At LYA the students are given a global education with concerns aimed towards comprehension and application in current deeds and future goals. In this school, the children are treated as valued individuals. Each child and their family is personally known and addressed by name by all the staff. Each child is treated with complete respect and worth. Even the administrators take an active role in the respect and personalization of each child's experience. Smaller-sized classes ensures that no one 'falls through the cracks' of anonymity which we see time and time again in larger schools.

Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
My kids and I are very happy with LYA. The religious studies program is very good. They are learning Mishna and Chumash. There is an emphasis on learning Hebrew language fundamentals. The secular studies classes are also very good. My children were new to the school last year, and the staff and children made them feel welcome. My kids are learning well, and they're happy! What more could you ask for?

Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
LYA is a terrific little school where children benefit from caring, loving, and also highly motivated teachers both in Jewish and General studies. The school's pioneering of the "Leader in Me" program (based on Steven Covey's "Seven Habits of Highly Effective People" has transformed the LYA community and created a culture of leadership, self-direction, compassion, and integrity for the school. A venerable institution, it was one of the first Chabad-network schools created in the U.S.A. for Jewish children, and it has evolved with the times, retaining its mission while adapting to the changing educational needs of children.


Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a community member
I admire this school for a number of reasons, the most important of which is how student-centered it is. Each child is educated at the speed that works best for him/her. Each child is gently pushed to do even more, which they do. The school also builds a love of this country through patriotic programs, the ones left behind by public schools these days. The curriculum is good and the women and men who teach there are totally committed to educating the next generation. It would be difficult for the school to improve more than it has within the confines of their yearly budget. They do better with what they have than public schools.

Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a teacher
My school is a Leader in Me School where every child and staff is encouraged to reach their full potential as a leader. The school has a family atmosphere and staff and students synergize together. LYA is a great place to grow, learn and have fun. We offer many community events, family education events and holiday programming and have a welcoming environment.

Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
The Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy (LYA) is a warm and inviting Jewish environment. Where our children are supported and encouraged to think on their own. They are being taught how to be not only leaders in school but how to be leaders in their communities and in every day life. LYA is a school worth traveling for because it is a place where our children are happy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy
1148 Converse St, Longmeadow, MA  01106
(413) 567-8665
Last modified Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Lubavitcher Yeshiva Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top