Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Franco American School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lowell

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, September 21, 2014

This is a wonderful school for smaller children. The Pre-k to grade 2 program is wonderful! It is academically strong but there are very few extra curricular activities for older children outside of a few sports programs. The website lists many sports programs that no longer exist. Outside field trips are minimal for grades 2-5 and often not relevant. Overall it's a decent school but there are better choices for older children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2014

I am very impressed with the education offered at Franco American School. All of the teachers are wonderful and are very approachable. Students are challenged and are well rounded.


Posted December 17, 2013

Love this school for a few reasons...it is very safe and clean! The student bathrooms, floors, classrooms, etc. are all cleaned to the highest of standards. Nutritional lunches are served at a fair price. Staff are careful to make sure that children have time to eat and save playtime for recess. There is a good mix or discipline and creativity that is offered at Franco. The principal and teachers are very approachable and offer extra help to students as needed.


Posted December 14, 2013

Franco American School is a wonderful private school in Lowell. The teachers are extremely kind and caring, but genuinely challenge the students as well. The community is full of dedicated people that truly have the students best interests at heart!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 9, 2013

My child entered the Franco American School in the fourth grade, and is now in the eighth. My experience here has been fantastic. I find that all of the teachers are supportive both academically and socially. When my child was struggling they worked with us as a family to help motivate her to succeed academically. There are not enough words to say what a great place Franco is. I love the close knit community feel and wouldn't change it for the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

Franco American School provides many wonderful opportunities for its pupils. Not only is the curriculum challenging, but they also offer many different sports, instrumental lessons, and so much more! In addition, overall, Franco American School's standardized testing results are in the 85 percentile. This school has it all!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 4, 2013

A truly wonderful school! Although a bit pricier than other private schools in Lowell, it is well worth it!


Posted December 4, 2013

Franco American School offers a nurturing environment for pre-K through eighth grade. Students feel as though they are not only part of the school community but really part of a big family. The children all form such strong bonds with their classmates. The academics are challenging but the teachers work with all students to make sure every student understands and progresses. The staff is very well educated and experienced and they offer a wide variety of ways of learning. Children learn using SmartBoards, document cameras and many lessons are hands on with manipulatives to help provide a real-life connection.


Posted November 26, 2013

The Franco American School provides a safe nurturing environment for learning. The teaching and support staff are enthusiastic and the students who take advantage of all that the school has to offer, flourish.


Posted November 25, 2013

Franco American gives my children a great education in a caring environment. We couldn't be more happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

I have been sending my children to this school for 9 years. I send them to Franco American over all the other schools because of the extremely loving and supportive atmosphere the school encourages and was built on. Being a former orphanage, this schools roots are to provide a safe, supportive environment for any child in it's care, regardless of race or economic status. This has proven to produce exceptional results from test scores but more importantly the qualities that make good citizens and neighbors of the future..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

Franco is not a good school. I enrolled my son to Franco and he didn't seem to be improving. I remember him telling me some kids were bullying him and when he told the staff, they didn't really care. They have this thing called "chew time", which doesn't let the kids talk during lunch. My son also told me that there were kids swearing on the playground. The thing that bothers me the most is the staff not caring and not doing their job. A staff, doesn't let the girls go out to recess until 10 minutes after the boys go out. It just doesn't seem fair. They also doesn't let anyone go out if it's during the summer because she has allergies. I think the principal should check on the students more often, especially in grades 4-8.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

When my wife first announced her intent to send my son to FAS (where she went), I was skeptical, having been educated in Lowell Public schools. But knowing of the challenges faced by public schools in providing low student:teacher ratios and the inability of educators to engage in discussions on religion and other "taboo" topics (that I believe are the foundation of discussions on ethics and values), I relented. Now two years into our experience with FAS, I am delighted every day to see my sons intelligence grow, as well his respect for people and understanding of what it means to be true to himself and others. If you are looking at private school in the Lowell area, I would put FAS on the list of schools to consider, and meet with the staff to understand what a great school FAS really is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

Franco was the first school I went to 1969 - 1977 I was a border when it was a bording school right after it changed from an orphanage. I feel the education was great the sisters were strict, but I would go back and do it again, we were family. The private school education is great. Sister Loraine was a 6th grade teacher at the time I went and Sister Gilbert was an 8th grade teacher who I had both. Enjoy the school and consider it if you want a good education for your child. IT IS BEAUTIFUL INSIDE AND OUT. The grotto is beautiful beyond words.


Posted February 20, 2013

My child wasn't doing well in public school. We transferred here and she LOVES it! She is doing well, A+student who loves going too school.The principal and the support staff as well as the teachers really care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2011

Franco is an excellent school. The classes are small and the teachers expect the students to work hard. Discipline is strict, but fair. The school is in a wonderful old building and there is lots of room for the children to play both indoors and outside. Hot lunches and before/after school care are available at a reasonable cost. The student population is very diverse and representative of the city of Lowell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

very good education. teacher are very involve in the students' progress
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2009

As a parent of a child in the Franco I am very pleased with the education and respect that is expected of the children. This is a great school at a fair price in a centrally located site in Lowell.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 21% 6%
Black 9% 8%
Hispanic 7% 16%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

357 Pawtucket Street
Lowell, MA 01854
Phone: (978) 458-0308

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT