Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
228 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Margaret Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a community member
Unfortunately this school was an unpleasant experience . If you are looking for a school that follows through with disaplinary actions then you need to go elsewhere.

St Margaret Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
St. Margaret School has been an excellent learning environment for my children. Having transferred one son from an expensive private school and another son from a public school, the transition was smooth and the students and teachers were very welcoming. The teachers and principal encourage communication between parents and students. I have found the teachers to be very involved in overall academic success of not only my children, but of all the students. It is a small school that fosters understanding of self and others, it promotes service and community and the student body is very diverse. My sons felt more a part of the school in their first year at St. Margaret School than they did in years at their other schools. Parent involvement is highly encouraged from classroom help to school events. St. Margaret School was recommended by a friend that had children attend from K1 through 8th grade and were very happy with the school. I am glad we chose to make the change.


St Margaret Elementary School 1

Posted January 18, 2013
- a parent
WORST SCHOOL EVER. I received phone calls from the beginning saying my son was hitting other children and misbehaving. As time went by my son got worse at home and in school not knowing why. I requested a meeting and was told that had to be pushed out because the teacher was too busy. I also requested to observe the classroom and my child in it. I was also refused told I could not observe the classroom not even from outside. My child was left without lunch TWICE because he "misbehaved" according to them. He was also sent home with a broken lip and didnt receive a phone call for that either but I did when my son did something which was every day accoding to them. BY FAR the worst unprofessional school. I was given the runaround many times with lack of communication between both the teacher and principal. The fact that I paid the school in advance and all this to happen to my son was disconcerning to me. They let other children bully my son and when he defended himself he got penalized twice in class and after school. Also the teacher would tell my son he was a BAD KID. Who in their right mind does that? I do not recommend this school to any child.

St Margaret Elementary School 5

Posted July 06, 2010
- a parent
St. Margaret School is good place for your child to get a great education. I will say the younger grades are not as academically intense as other schools but they instill a good work ethic and teach important study skills. I have found the older grades (3-8) to be much more rigorous. The school is very diverse and is a much more realistic representation of society. The principal is kind, and considerate of all the students. She is very approachable with any concern. My children have learned to focus but also be creative. Their is no singular way to do things. The children are allowed to be themselves while being respectful of others thoughts and opinion. The school is very open to parental involvement and strongly encourages it. My children have become well rounded because of St. Margaret's.

St Margaret Elementary School 1

Posted March 22, 2010
- a parent
certainly not one of the better private schools in the city...too bad because it is nestled in a wonderful neighborhood in the city's Highlands section. The paster and principal seem to not put any money or effort into the school's appearance and upkeep...and I don't want to hear that it's because of the economy or that it's a common problem among these Catholic elementary schools. I pulled my kids and now send them to another private school in the city where their environment is CLEAN, technology is more up-to-date, etc.


St Margaret Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
My son started St. Margrets this year. I have to say that I am not very comfortable with him going to this school. There is no communication what so ever...at open house his teacher was rude and the principal seems to have no clue what is going on there. It does seem like a daycare/drop off place for your child. My sons grades have slipped and his behavior has gotton worse since he has been going there. he will finish out the year, but then we will be moving him to another school.

St Margaret Elementary School 1

Posted August 03, 2009
- a parent
There was a total lack of communication, behavior plans with no consequences, lack of teacher assistants (1 assistant for 3 grades), low reading levels, and no computer or art classes. I would not recommend this school, or have my child return. Other parents were calling it a glorified daycare center. The kids are bullied by other kids, and nothing was done about it. Visit different schools (both public and private), talk to teachers, and find out what they should know once they complete their grade level. Kids need resources, not bullies.

St Margaret Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2005
- a student
St Margaret's School is a wonderful place for children to get an amazing education. The teachers are so nice and understanding and choose to help the students feel comfortable and free to be themselves. The principal is the best of the best she offers students guidance and kindness that they need to learn how to be the best adults that they can grow up to be. This school offers a variety of activitiesL the academic program is good because it teaches them new things every day and it is easy for them to understand. We also have music programs, art programs, and physical education or gym. We also have some athletic sports teams that the students can try out for; such as soccer, softball, baseball, volleyball, cheerleading, basketball, and new to this 05-06 school year is the cross country track team. Parent involement is very important we have a PTA.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Margaret Elementary School
486 Stevens St, Lowell, MA  01851
(978) 453-8491
Last modified St Margaret Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Margaret Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top