Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Community Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 175 students

We are best known for family atmosphere.

 
 

Living in Lowell

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $167,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2014

I love this School. It really deserves 5 stars. God's word is taught and this is VERY important to us! I always ask my kids if they want to go to a different school (since we live in another town), but they keep saying "NO THANKS" !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This school doesn't deserve four stars, this school doesn't even offer highschool anymore. The teachers are great but the attitude of the leaders is less than satisfactory.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2012

There might be small mechanical issues that teachers and the Principal are willing to address. The teachers are very passionate and want to educate the children, many of them have worked in the Lowell public school system but have taken a pay cut to teach here. Teachers are very approachable and parental involvment is encouraged.


Posted February 8, 2012

It is a wonderfull school. My daughter is there for almost 7 years, since day care. They care about all areas of my daughter's development. They see each child as an unique being, and they help them to discover their gifts and use them to God's glory.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2011

My kids go to this school and I'm very happy with their education, they love their teachers and do very well on their tests, my older is going there since Pre School and now she is in Middle School, she is a very successful student, as Christians we want to make sure they study the Biblie as well as the other subjects, however, the physical education department is weak and doesn't offer much. Overall I think it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2011

My nephew graduated from this a few ayears ago and is now in college and doing wonderful. He came in as a preschooler and went all the way up to the 12th grade!! He had some of the best teacher's at this school!! To work in this school it is a ministry it's not just a job because you could go to public schools and get paid on a higher scale but these teacher's give so much more then they receive which is a blessing to the students!! At this time I know have my own daughter going to this school and she is an high honor student. The homework alone that she receives is a challange and she is able to accomplish it with no struggles at all becuase of the great guidliness that they have set in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

It has a family atmosphere. Teachers are very dedicated and capable. Curriculums are solid, and there are a lot of extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

This is my son's first year at CCA, but we did some tutoring sessions this summer, so we became familiar with the school and the staff. I came to CCA because my hometown failed to provide my son with the knowledge that he would need to go on to first grade. Because of 'No Child Left Behind' act, even though your child did not learn/understand what is expected of them, as long as they marginally understand you are passed onto the next grade. Who does that serve? My son has just completed his first month, and I have to say I am THRILLED with the progress I have seen, the paperwork that he comes home with is amazing, and the children DO actually learn more in this school than in the public sector. CCA is a loving community and the teachers are top rate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

This school really needs to boost it up. I am very unsatisfied with the teacher - student relationships. I would appreciate it if the teachers would be active during the class. My son, Dylan does not enjoy this school much at all. He has many friends, and he does like that part of school, but he dislikes all the teachers very strongly. He has done well in all his other schools, getting straight-A's, but when he comes to this school he is getting low C's and high D's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

This is a terrible school. the teachers know nothing, and the students learn nothing. The staff is unwaveringly bias. If you want your child to succeed in life I would definitely not send them here. You and your child will regret it if you do enroll them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2004

This school is known for it's great parent/teacher interaction. The parents are highly involved in all aspects from lunchroom to science night to Christmas pageant to field trips. Commitment of the teachers to making sure students know the material is excellent! Office staff is highly competent. Students have left in search of better school and have returned because they really liked our school style.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation UMASS Lowell
Middlesex Community College
Eastern Nazarene College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • ACSI 5-Star School (2008)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Najem
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UMASS Lowell
Middlesex Community College
Eastern Nazarene College
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

105 Princeton Boulevard
Lowell, MA 01851
Phone: (978) 453-4738

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT