Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dr. Gertrude Bailey Elementary School

Public | PK-4 & ungraded | 495 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2014

This school is amazing the new principaL is just a great as the old one. This school is so nice a respective of EVERYONE!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

My daughter was there in this school in her kindergarten class. Since we have to move to new jersy I have to left the school. my experience was very nice . Teacher was very good and parent teacher interaction was also good and the best asset of school is principal. Extra activities compared to other school are less else I'll love to keep my daughter to this school in future if possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

My daughter is in Kindergarten I'm currently writing a review because I know that a lot of people read this and I wanted to say that my daughter has been at this school less then two months now and I left this school upset twice. Its seems to me that some of the teachers in this school like to pick and choose what kids they like depending whether or not they know their parents. Dont get me wrong there are good things in the school like the principal and some teachers, but some teachers really do not care anymore about the students and it is a shame because I thought the reason people became teachers is because they loved the kids. I do think the teachers need to communicate with the parents more and not just with the parents they knew from some place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

I'm going to the daley now .I had a great time at the bailey I and friends all ways got straight A's .The teachers are nice and a bit strict and very motavational.I love the bailey my parents do too.I cried puddles on my last day at the bailey.Forever in my memories are he great teachers and my friends from 1st-4th


Posted January 21, 2010

I moved just to get my 2 kids out of this school. Te teachers there seemed to only want to do the bare minimum. No gifted programs, and no extra help for those falling behind. When we moved to our current area, my older child was behind in what the other children were being taught. They already had learned cursive and their multiplication tables, and she hadn't, which made me realize how behind the Bailey was in their curriculum. Parents are made to feel very unwelcome at this school, with the exception of planned 'family events'. Violence in the area, and even in this elemefamily events. Crime in the area, and in the schools, seems to be on the rise. This standard of education is too poor for any child, not just mine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

Our Daughter started Bailey school from 3rd grade. She was in Charter school from K to 2nd grade. We noticed huge difference in environment, discipline, cleanliness, playground, cafeteria, overall infrastructure. I am surprised to see MCAS score though. But school had higher scores also in last few years. Hoping this year would be better. But compared to several other school, we recommend Bailey School for better environment and academics for little chaps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

My son enjoys going to Baileys and the staff has always been very cheerful and friendly. I'm surprised to see the poor MCAS rating for 2006. I had an impression this was one of the best schools in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

Excellent School! We have 2 children who attended this school our daughter attended k-4 and our son attended from prek-1. If it was not for the fact we puchased a home in another part of the state in 2003 our son would still be attending the Bailey. We Truly miss the school & all of the Staff they made you feel like you were part of the Bailey School Family! We would like to acknowledge and thank a few special present & past Bailey School staff members, Ms. McCarthy (Former Principal) Ms. Elchook (PreK), Mrs. Roper(PreK Former Paraprofessional), Ms.Casey (K), Ms. Byrne(K Former ParaProfessional), Ms. Devlin (3rd) Mrs. Fortier (ParaProfessional) You were all such an inspiration to our children and we will be forever grateful. We Mmss you all! So if anyone is considering a School for there children The Bailey School comes highly reccomended! Thank you Bailey School staff! Signed, The Pelletier Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This school did wonders with my son who has ADHD. They worked very hard with his therapist and myself and his father. My daughter starts kindergarden this year an I am very happy sending her. They are wonderful teachers and peers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Female64%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian50%
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Title I58%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learners43%

Math

All Students71%
Female75%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Title I71%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learners60%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Female70%
Male24%
African Americann/a
Asian54%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title I45%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners20%

Math

All Students67%
Female73%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asian77%
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Title I67%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learners60%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 33% 6%
Hispanic 19% 16%
Black 5% 8%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (978) 459-5314

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

175 Campbell Dr
Lowell, MA 01851
Website: Click here
Phone: (978) 937-7644

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT