Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

S Christa McAuliffe Elementary School

Public | PK-4 & ungraded | 471 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

My son is a Kindergartner at the McAuliffe school. He loves it and so do my husband and I! The involvement and communication of the staff is outstanding. My son is only halfway through Kindergarten, and I am amazed at his math, reading, and reasoning skills. The student and staff population is very diverse, which only adds to the real-life education my son is getting. The PTO is very active, and input from all parents are welcome at any time. Although I was apprehensive about sending my children to Lowell Public Schools, so far I am more than happy with my choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

My school is what I have been searching for many years now. A community public school in my own neighborhood tat is proficient. A very proactive administration, effective and caring teachers and parents who actually can feel that their view matters. I'm surprised at how much parent and community work is given to support this school. I have never seen it before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

my son is a student at the McAuliffe entering K in the fall, last year was his first year (pre-k) and I have to say the staff blew me away with how involved and caring they are!! It def feels more like a family.They are always there to answer questions and very much so seems like they go above and beyond for every child. They also offer so many after school activities! loved loved loved the pre-k staff and looking foward to the up coming school year :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2012

The McAuliffe is the best!!!! My oldest is in the fourth grade and the idea of her having to leave this school makes me so sad. All of my kids have made so much progress. The principal is everywhere and she knows the kids by name, the teachers all answer email and care about their students. The school has a happy and caring vibe. THe best school by far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

This school is the best elementary school in the city. My daughter went here from kindergarten till fourth grade. The entire staff is wonderful, they do everything in their power to help whenever a child needs any extra support ect. It truly feels like a home enviornment, that's something that is hard to find in most schools. Really miss this school. If it were k-8 my child would still be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

LOVE this school! The entire school is on one consistent behavior plan that all the staff follow, so there is consistency from classroom to classroom and grade to grade. The teachers and all staff are very involved, warm, friendly, and genuinely seem to like their jobs and the kids. It has a warm friendly family feel to it. On top of all that, our children are excelling academically. Parent involvement is increasing steadily and the PTO is a wonderful part of the school with lots of activities throughout the year to involve families in school life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The staff and teachers are awesome. They all know my son's name and develop a relationship with the kids even if they are not their students.Ex. The kindergarten and 1st grade teachers already knew my son when he was in pre-school. If the kids have any problems, they go above and beyond to help them.You can tell that they really enjoy their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

my daughter was just passed along at her old school within a couple months she was reading and now is an exceptional student in all areas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

the teachers at this school have been outstanding. The staff is friendly and inviting. Parent involvement is limited but for those who do participate they do a great job! The only downside is the large classroom size and discipline problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
19%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students32%
Female35%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Title I32%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learners11%

Math

All Students73%
Female72%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Title I73%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Female49%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asian30%
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Title I38%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners17%

Math

All Students48%
Female54%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asian40%
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Title I48%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learners30%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 68%
Hispanic 36% 15%
Asian 11% 6%
Black 7% 8%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (978) 937-2845

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

570 Beacon St
Lowell, MA 01850
Phone: (978) 937-2838

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Louis School
Lowell, MA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT