Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Marys Jr-Sr High School

Private | 6-12 | 597 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Lynn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2014

Awful. St. Mary's was a great school until the new administration came in. Teachers and students alike are genuinely fearful of this oppressive administration. Grace Cotter Regan is a self-absorbed narcissist and has her own agenda. She will stop at nothing to get what she wants. Mismanagement of the school budget has led to a significant increase in tuition over the past 2 years. This was not the school that I enrolled my first daughter in 5 years ago. There is a completely new administration full of unqualified people. Mark Difabio is completely out of touch and is better off not working in the school system. He has made absurd rules and changes since coming to the school. He is the reason why I am pulling my younger daughter from the school. Complete tyrant who has no sense of compassion. The board of trustees ought to open their eyes and see what Grace Cotter Regan and Mark Difabio have done to St. Mary's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

There are lots of good things going on recently. A new head of school and principal will move forward to build on the school's strengths. An array of courses are offered through the virtual high school to complement classroom learning. My student has taken honors and AP classes and is ready to move on to a very challenging college. We are meeting kids from all over the world, while remaining a part of our child's high school life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2012

Its the same school. More than 75 percent of the students graduate wit honors and it simply to the fact that its too easy, The kids get away with most anything they want because they don't want to lose a student. I think people should inquire about the drop out percentage at St. Marys and actually asked to be shown documentation. I never realized how many kids leave after one year because its the curriculum of an elementary school. Definitely not challenging or rewarding and there are no good programs that public schools have to offer. Please do your homework before enrolling your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2012

I don't know what school the last poster's child attends but it is not the school both my older child graduated from or the one my younger child is in the top ten of her graduating class in. My older child will gratuate college this year with two bach. degrees, thanks in part to the great base he got at St. Mary's. My younger child has been fielding offers from colleges since 10th grade and no she does not play sports, not that there is anything wrong with that. As with any education a child only gets out of it what they put in, this is what I have taught my children. The teachers they have both had have been fantasic and dedicated, can't imagine who this person's child had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

my daughter graduated from St Marys 4 yrs ago and loved every minute of it now my son is in the 8th grade at St,Marys he loves it I think it is the best school around Teachers student administration they dont come any better than this school I would put them up against any school and they would come out on top Your the best St.Marys
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

My three girls are graduates and my son expects to attend next fall...Our family experience has been great! the administration, teachers, students and staff make up a close family, where all are welcome. As a result,my girls all received scholarships and attended the colleges of thier choice. Ap courses and an honors program are available and the extracurricular activities provide a well rounded experience in a accepting, christian atmosphere, in the catholic tradition. I strongly recommend st. Mary's to any parents who want an excellent, affordable, college prep education for their sons and daughters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2005

I attended St Mary's Jr?Sr High School for 4 years & it was the greatest experience of my life. The teachers were always willing to help in any wawy they could they were always an ear to listen or a shoulder to cry on. Any parent thinking about sending there chid there shouldn't have to think twice. No kid is ever left out.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 67%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Black 6% 8%
Hispanic 6% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35 Tremont Street
Lynn, MA 01902
Phone: (781) 595-7885

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT