Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Classical High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1500 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Awesome school I had 4 children graduated from classical . One of them graduated from BU the other one CURRY COLLEGE And my son is going to BENTLEY . I am upset my 16 year old is going to another school which I don't like but you bet my 12 year will be going to CLASSICAL!! The teachers are very nice. MR. Constintino was always very nice to me and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

This school is great if you want a good education. Most of the teachers here will always put the students first and make sure every student gets the help that you need if they're struggling in academically. When I went here and I struggled and didn't care about my grades, the teachers would always do their best to help me out and it got me caring about my grades again and wanting to do my best in school. They also have extra help if you're not good in MCAS. I was never very good at MCAS and after attending only 7 MCAS prep sessions after school, I ended up getting advanced and proficient on my MCAS scores. Socially, however, I don't like this school. It's way too over crowded & many students here are obnoxious. If you don't have anyone to sit with at lunch, you're out of luck. You're going to be alone for that lunch period whether you like it or not. Also didn't like how the school was super strict with the use of cell phones, you couldn't use your phones during mentoring (homeroom) or lunch, which completely blows if you didnt like the people in your mentoring room or were alone at lunch. Overall, your education is the most important and this school has a great education system.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2010

I have three children who have all chosen to go to Lynn Classical. I couldn't be happier with the opportunities they have been given to learn and thrive in this wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

I am a sophmore at lynn classical and i think that it is the best school in lynn! people make fun of us because our school is sinking and because are freshman aren't in the big building but our acdemics are high! we care about each other we are a big family! i recomed anyone coming her you wont be judge and maing friends is so easy because everyone is nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

I rate this school a five star. My son graduated from Classical High with high honors. Never had any trouble with students or teachers. Had a great football coach. Now my daughter is a junior. She also does great in school and involved in chorus which is run by a wonderful teacher that really cares about the students. The principal and all the staff are very caring and I can't stress enough how safe the school is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

There is not much I can say about this school except that it is excellent. The teachers care for the students (up some point it even gets personal and you feel that you don't have teachers, but friends). I attended LCHS and got a great education, classes are challenging and there are no easy A's, you have to work. Some teachers I remember are Ms. FREY (she teaches history), Mr. Spears (he teaches geology), Mr. Castleman (He teaches english but he mostly works with ESL students). He was the one that helped me write all my college essays, even though he was just my home room teacher. I love the school and will never forget the good times. Grad in 2006
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2008

The teachers are nice, most of them. However, like alot of high schools they put little importance on the arts but instead stress competitiveness i.e. sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

Classical is a wonderful high school with wonderful teachers. The teachers are willing to help a student in need as are the guidance counselors. Also, the after school tutoring program for the MCAS is exceptional.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female91%
Male84%
African American86%
Asian92%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial100%
White99%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Title I87%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learners22%

Math

All Students64%
Female66%
Male62%
African American53%
Asian72%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial63%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Title I64%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners9%

Science

All Students60%
Female63%
Male57%
African American49%
Asian71%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial63%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title I60%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learners0%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

590 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
52%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students48%
Female49%
Male48%
African American38%
Asian56%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial40%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Title I48%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners2%

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

55%

Average SAT score

1321

Graduation rate

81%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 16%
White 28% 67%
Black 16% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Eugene Constantino
Fax number
  • (781) 477-7212
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

235 O Callaghan Way
Lynn, MA 01905
Phone: (781) 477-7404

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT