Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Forestdale School 2

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
I've seen a steady decline in the overall school performance of the Foresdale in the past 2 years. The principle is cultivating a sense of apathy among the staff. The expectations of very capable young people are way to low and when I've tried to bring this up the general attitude is "everything is fine". My Kindergartner who goes to another school is learning a similar curriculum in social studies as my third grader. The scores are very low at this school because it is poorly run. What's so alarming is the administrators aren't concerned. We should be holding our education administrators to a higher standard.

Forestdale School 5

Posted August 01, 2015
- a parent
With the help of the teachers my daughter score test is over 90-95. A little bit more home work will be welcome!


Forestdale School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 01, 2015
- a parent
A better pay will be a good starting point, it will be hard for the school to perform better when the teachers are looking for a second job or a better pay. The city has to do more. Better schools = a better real estate!

Forestdale School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 01, 2015
- a parent
More homework and parents involvement it will be great! The teachers should be more open and willing to help the students with extra homework.

Forestdale School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 01, 2015
- a parent
With the help of the teachers, my daughter effort and some extra homework her score test is over 90-95.


Forestdale School 5

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
My daughter loves this place! The teachers are very patient and knowledgeble, the afterschool program is awesome, children can develop more skills due to exposure to different areas and activities!

Forestdale School 5

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
The school is a great place. You learn all the necessary topics and dont go off topic. Anyday you're allowed to stay after to get help from any of the teachers. This school is the best school my child has gone too. My child was never bullied or had serious problem with other students. Forestdale is great.

Forestdale School 3

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
I currently have two children attending this school. I wish there was more options of a bilingual classses other than one for their grade. I also have notices several changes of aides in one of my child's classrooms - probably due to budget constraints. Forestdale, being an "International" school, I was suprised to find a staff member car with anti-immigrant bumper stickers. I was offended and I am suprised the school whose intention to foster multi-cultural pluralism, isn't following through by tolerating staff members that have slogans like, "protect our borders" on their cars.


Forestdale School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Parents are given the opportunity to participate with their children's learning. This teamwork is essential for student success. There is an openness for new ideas, techniques, and diversity. Most of the teachers are truly dedicated along with the staff. The principal works well with all aspects of the school.

Forestdale School
no rating

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
The special education program at this school leaves alot to be desired. The system as a whole has some major issues, but the 'sweep it under the rug mentality' and 'your kid must need outside counciling' theory thrown around with all too much regularity is getting tiresome. I'm afraid there are no answers available or an end in sight. God help our kids is all I can say.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Forestdale School
74 Sylvan Street, Malden, MA  02148
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (781) 397-7326
Last modified Forestdale School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top