Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Tower School

Private | PK-8 | 297 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Marblehead

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $465,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2014

Tower is one of my favorite places on earth. Teachers at Tower make it their job to know each student. Their likes and dislikes, their strengths and weaknesses and what makes them unique and special. It is important to deeply know our students so that every moment of instruction, encouragement or redirection can be effective and purposeful in their growth. Tower is a place where laughter and challenges go hand in hand. Learning requires perseverance, grit and self awareness but also a sense of humor and adventure. At Tower, everyone wants to be here. Students and faculty alike work above and beyond their duties. It is a place to engage, to invest, to conquer fears, to surpass expectations, and to foster life long friendships. Tower is a place to live full, to fall in love with learning and master excellence. I love teaching my Tower students and look forward to each new day with each of them!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2014

I attended Tower school for 10yrs. If your child has any sort of a personality, do not send him or her to Tower. Tower values conformity. Any child that would like to think for herself or have her own opinion is weeded out. The school usually accomplishes this by telling the parents, "there is a problem with your child in the classroom." Then they will try to convince the parents that their child has learning disabilities, and would be "better suited in a school that will cater to her needs." It's a well known fact that not all kids learn the same exact way. Well, at Tower, if your child doesn't learn via "the typical learning method" (WHAT ON EARTH IS THAT?!), then you will be told to consider attention deficit medications and a new school for your child. In my opinion, a school that charges 15K/yr for a kindergardener to make art out of trash items (termed "scrounge"... so vogue!) better be able to hire tutors for the students who do not learn via typical methods. I stuck it out at tower & was tortured by teachers/admins daily- probably their effort to wear me down and make me leave). I never had learning issues. I'm now a medical student, and will be a doctor in 1 year...


Posted July 31, 2013

My children graduated from Tower and thrived in high school. They had the discipline to work hard, the confidence to advocate for themselves, and truly liked going to school. Tower's program is challenging, but it is warm and nurturing, unlike some of the other schools in the area. Kids put enough stress on themselves, why add to it by picking a school that is too rigid. Tower teachers are fantastic, and it is small enough that every child is known.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2013

I have two children at Tower and so far their experiences have exceeded our expectations. My kids are eager to go to school each day, love their teachers, and report back with excitement about the work they're doing in class. I've found the communication between the school and families to be excellent -- they value what parents have to say, and how we can contribute to the life of the school. So far, so very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2011

THIS IS A CLOSED DOOR POLICY SCHOOL-any school that has a closed door policy I would be afraid to send my daugther and son to. We sent our kids there for three years and took them all out when we were told there was lots of problems with our son in K program...imagine problems in Kindergarden? When we asked if we could go in to the class and see what the problem could be the teacher told us that is not possible .We dont allow that. We found out that the teacher was bullying my son so we deceided to remove all of kids. We are very happy now in our new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2011

We love Tower School! My daughter was shy when she started she didn't speak for a month, the school was patient and caring and worked to build her confidence and give her the support she needed. They have a wonderful program where older kids become buddies for the younger kids, help them with their work and forge long lasting relationships. My daughter is now thriving, speaking in assembly, doing plays, and excelling in her academics. She cant wait to go to school in the morning.The curriculum is excellent. The investment in small classes and great teachers for us insures that she is building a strong foundation and great learning habits. As a private school they do not have to tolerate terribly disruptive kids, which means the teachers can teach and not take the majority of their time trying to maintain control, this means my child gets a great education. I suspect that the person who says Tower doesn't tolerate boys had one of those disruptive kids. My daughters grade has as many boys as girls and they are all great kids, and they all love Tower.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

This school is great my children love tower! They enjoy every second of it. the staff, students and generally even the school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

I have two children enrolled at Tower School and couldn t be happier. The administration and faculty really know each child and my children do enjoy going to school every day. My youngest is in the lower school where he is not only challenged academically but is also surrounded friends who, even at this early age, show each other respect. My oldest child is middle school. I have to say the program is excellent. It is challenging academically while also including many art programs. Every school should model itself after Tower.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

We switched our two children from public school to Tower School this fall and could not be happier. I feel like my children have gone from a black and white education to color. It is a small school where all the staff get to know the students and their families. The small class sizes and work groups mean that each child gets lots of individual attention and different learning styles are well accommodated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

The academics at this school are a little more challenging than the local public school. This school has dedicated teachers and offers many extra curricula activities for students. They have many sports teams. There is a high concentration onthe arts. The parents are Tower are extremely involved and helpful! A beautiful facility and a great place for a child to get an education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 67%
Hispanic 6% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Black 1% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (781) 631-2292

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

75 West Shore Drive
Marblehead, MA 01945
Website: Click here
Phone: (781) 631-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Malcolm L Bell
Marblehead, MA


Devereux School
Marblehead, MA


Village School
Marblehead, MA


Glover
Marblehead, MA



Cohen Hillel Academy
Marblehead, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT