Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Mashpee, MA
Students enrolled: 453
 

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

16 reviews of this school


Mashpee High School 3

Posted January 14, 2014
- a community member
Mashpee is a good school and one of the best on the Cape. It doesnt have the best academics, but there are much worse out there. the teachers are great and most truly care about how well you do in school and will help you out. Sports program is very good and at times can seem like sports matter more than academics in the school. Principal is not great at all, he has some rediculous ideas and lacks leadership. But he's also at the mercy of the town officials and the tribal leaders/parents.

Mashpee High School
no rating

Posted October 30, 2009
- a community member
A wonderful group of parents, board members and community members who care about Mashpee High School s students success


Mashpee High School
no rating

Posted March 12, 2008
- a parent
I find the High-School very inconsistant with its disciplinary issues. Communication among the staff is terrible. I am not sure who is paying attention to the teachers because they run so hot and cold. They do have some excellant teachers however they also have those that know no boundaries and I do not see who is determining what these boundaries are. It is a shame because I would say 95% are great people with great ideas that could be a great asset to our children under some real leadership and support for staff and students.

Mashpee High School 3

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
Grades 7 & 8 are housed at Mashpee High School, which can be awkward for 12-15 year-olds trying to socially navigate amongst their elder peers. Children of this age are required to ride the school bus with teens as well. There appears to be a stronger emphasis on athletics rather than academics - which is unfortunate for students who are not physically coordinated. As a parent, I've also observed a discipline policy that focuses less on early behavioral interventions and more on negative consequences.

Mashpee High School 5

Posted October 30, 2007
- a parent
Coming from a school in another state, I can only tell you how truly blessed you are to have a school of this caliber. The teachers are quality caring adults, committed and hard working. The athletics program is second to none. You really have know idea how good you have it. a Great school!


Mashpee High School 2

Posted June 27, 2007
- a student
I have attended MHS for the past 3 years and all I have to say is what poor leadership and an overall bad school. No matter what certain people say the school is not divided racially but it has its schisms. MHS students are not accepting of each other, and there is little punishment going around for the numerous disciplinary issues going on. The only positive thing are the majority of the teachers and AP Courses offered. The majority of the teachers are great people and help the students progress with ease.

Mashpee High School 4

Posted June 08, 2007
- a student
i am a student at this school and all of you against this school are wrong. We do have in school punishement. The sports teams are great. There are no racial issues. The guidance department just helped my brother get into a good college. And the principal, she is great. She is one of the nicest people i have ever met. The teaching is pretty decent too

Mashpee High School 4

Posted April 19, 2007
- a student
Mashpee High is one of the better public schools on the Cape. Given the choice of attending a nearby school, or a private school, I would most definitely choose Mashpee. Mashpee has a great academic reputation along with an awesome faculty. Mashpee has strong Advanced Placement classes available to all students who wish to take them. I was accepted to every college I applied to-both private and public-due to the outstanding efforts of the Guidance Department.


Mashpee High School 5

Posted April 03, 2007
- a parent
Mashpee schools Quashnet, Coombs and Mashpee High is phenomenal! I have three kids and the amount of teacher involvement has molded them to be not only high achievers in school (honor roll and straight A's) but high achievers in personal integrity as well; they seem to motivate kids to work hard. My oldest son has experienced outstanding coaching from Coach Brian Corrigan and Matthew Traveri; the amount of dedication they put in brings out the best in the students in the areas of basketball, football and overall weight training. They also have fantastic workout equipment and an auditorium which is one of the best I've seen in a school. I'm so impressed with 90% of the teachers, they don't seem jaded by their jobs and they put so much into it. I can honestly say if you move to Mashpee, you will be as thrilled as I am.

Mashpee High School 2

Posted March 21, 2007
- a parent
Mashpee High School does a very poor job of making advanced classes available to those who need them.Don't even get me started on the sports programs.How can it be possible to be eligible to play sports with F's on your report card? What Guidance counselors? The helpful people who don't make college deadlines?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mashpee High School
500 Old Barnstable Road, Mashpee, MA  02649
(508) 539-3600
Last modified Mashpee High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mashpee High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top