Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Joseph Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 86 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Medford

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $320,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,390.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2014

The school is a great school. The teachers are caring and great with the kids. The moms are unwelcoming and have their clique. Don't try joining the parent club it's run by the same women. My husband and I are seriously thinking of sending our daughter to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

My son attends St. Joseph, I had removed him from public and was accommodated by the principal to let him in half way through the year. It was a easy transition and my son loves being at this school. For the mom who took her kid out for not liking the other parents is a selfish act. It is not a social event it is your childs education get a grip and focus on the good of your child !!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2013

My son is also 5 and we will definitely be sending him back this fall. The staff is caring and warm and we couldn't be happier. I don't understand the previous reviewers comment regarding mom cliques. I have made some wonderful friendships with other parents here. We have been invited to countless birthday parties and playdates. Most parents give the invites to the teacher to put in every child's folder. I also am not aware of any parents who run the classrooms. The teachers are in charge and they're great. I was new to Medford and made a blind choice to send my son here and am so glad I did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

I tried to like this school but I am removing my daughter next year. The mothers here are completely unwelcoming. It's a clique where they only allow 'certain' moms to join. It's ridiculous, it's like high school! My daughter tries to make friends but she never gets invited to parties or homes. She was very emotional one day and told me how much her feelings were hurt because she never gets invited and she is only 5!!! As loving and polite as she is and it breaks my heart. I've tried but they completely ignore me. I don't care how great the program or school is when there are parents like this running the classrooms. No wonder there is so much bullying in schools and it all starts from the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

The preschools teachers are stellar. They are all experienced and caring professionals. The after school program is convenient and enjoyed by the kids. They make improvements as they are able such as new play structure this year. I think the Principal is well meaning, but there some micromanaging that is makes tasks hard. Such as no school directory or new student mixers for forming friendships and playdates. The "PTO" is a mother's social club based on the idea that everyone is local and has a stay at home parent. We are glad we go here, but recognize there is room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

Both of my kids go to St. Joe's and it is a great school. We have a new principal and he has made the school even better. I read the previous reviews and thought the mom worrying about the mom cliques was maybe insecure. My kids have gone there for 5 years and although i do see moms chatting in the playground, i think that's normal. I don't get into the mom cliques because that's truely not my concern. I associate with a few mom's that their kids are friends with mine and they are great! It's a great school with a great education. It's not a social club!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

My children have attended SJS and I could not have asked for a better experience. Academically the school is outstanding and the community of the school is one that is warm and welcoming. I would highly recommend St. Joseph School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

In response to the previous rating. We are also out-of-towners and have not experienced this kind of snubbing at all. We have noticed that many of the families have known each other for many years and thereby have long standing (30+years) relationships but we always felt welcome and have regular play-dates from within. The 'one star' rating based on a single aspect seems spiteful and unfairly drags down the rating; therfore I counter with a five.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

I liked this school, but to be honest I removed my kids because of the moms. I am from out of the city and most of the moms there were from Medford, like lifelong residents. They all knew each other and are very clique-ey. I'd come to pick up my daughter and they would stay in a group chatting and completely ignore me, they also did not invite my child to their homes. I am not paying all that money to send my child to school and be made to feel like an interloper. As i said the school itself was great and if your from Medford I guess I'd send my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2007

Both my children went to St. Joseph until we moved. I agree it was a great school. They each recieved an excellent education with a strong moral component. Sr. Maureen is great. And we love Mrs. Capuccio
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

My son just loves St Josephs a lot. He is in fifth grade and he loves his teachers, Mrs. Kelly and Mrs. Lapointe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

The spirit of this school is unbeatable! The education is top notch! The community is united! Way to go St. Joe's
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 67%
Black 15% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Hispanic 5% 16%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

132 High Street
Medford, MA 02155
Phone: (781) 396-3636

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Brooks School
Medford, MA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT