Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Andrews Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
Again, feel that the math is thin. They are doing the most writing in social studies and haven't seen much done in English.

Andrews Middle School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
It seems light but I am not looking for hours of homework. Math homework is light and not always relevant.


Andrews Middle School 3

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
I am not sure they students are really required to consistently work hard. The homework is fairly light and not always relevant. Especially the math seems weak to me.

Andrews Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
Thank you, Mr. D'Alleva, for effectively leading this school and creating a nurturing educational environment.

Andrews Middle School 5

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
Both of our children have thrived at the Andrews Middle School, excelling at academics and enjoying activities.


Andrews Middle School 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is going into 8th grade and has had a great experience with the school. Mr D'Alleva(principal) is very helpful and will work with parents and kids on any issue. I think the teachers are awesome and very helpful. The PTO could use some help from new parents entering the school!

Andrews Middle School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Moved my son from private school to the Andrews School. Cannot say enough about this school.....from the Principal to the lunch ladies and custodians. Staff is professional and supportive. Administrators and teachers understand how middle schoolers learn and know how to deal with their ever changing emotional needs! Thank you!

Andrews Middle School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
VERY supportive administrators, and teachers willing to take the time to communicate with parents. Constant communication for both students and their families .


Andrews Middle School 4

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful teachers who care about the students...Principal D'Alleva and Vice Principal Marrotta are strong leaders and it shows in the student body.

Andrews Middle School 4

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is just finishing 6th grade at this school. Coming from the Roberts elementary where the principal doesn't care about anyone or anything , I can honestly say that the principal at the Andrews, Mr. D'Alleva, is WONDERFUL!!! He is so involved and organized. Keeps parents in the loop.... sends out emails, phone messages, twitter updates, school connect notifications etc.....and let's not forget Mrs. Marotta, the assistant principal....she has a way of dealing with the ever changing moods and behaviors of middle schoolers. Sweet person, but knows when and how to take charge. My only complaint, and not everyone agrees, is that a lot of teachers allow the students to retake tests after a poor grade. I think you snooze you lose. Life doesn't always give second chances, so I'm not sure that is the best way to handle things. I have heard that 6th grade is a transitional year and that this will not always be allowed. So if that's the case- which I will find out in the fall, no complaints- as far as education and staff are concerned anyway!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Andrews Middle School
3000 Mystic Valley Parkway, Medford, MA  02155
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (781) 393-2228
Last modified Andrews Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top