Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Columbus Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
I have been grateful to all four teachers my child has had so far at Columbus Elementary School. All of them have been caring, enthusiastic, engaged, and respectful of both myself and my child. They have kept strong standards and expectations that have helped my son grow and develop, which includes coming home, saying with excitement, "we are starting multiplication next week"! Proud to be part of this wonderfully diverse school.

Columbus Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
The Columbus School is excellent. My daughter has been there for almost three years and I am excited for my son to start Kindergarten next year. The building is new (10 years old) and is a great facility. The teachers, staff, and leadership are all top-notch. It's a wonderful community!


Columbus Elementary School 4

Posted October 12, 2013
- a parent
I am extremely pleased to send my children to the Columbus Elementary school. Both principals my child has had have been warm and caring. Both my children have had amazing teachers who always went above and beyond what they were had to do for my children. The events that are planned are always wonderful. The only thing I would change is the low parent involvement. I always see the same faces at events. I wish more parents would volunteer.

Columbus Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
The Columbus is a diverse place with kids from all income levels and various ethnicities. The families and teaching staff have one thing in common - they care deeply about the kids. This is most visible at the two school concerts, which are standing room only. The school also has a new Principal, starting her second year and a new full-time Assistant Principal. Both women have a great deal of energy, enthusiasm and love for their job and the children in the school.

Columbus Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
The Columbus school has been a great place for my child to learn. Principal, teachers and PTO (Mrs. Roberto, the nurse too!) do their best to give all children education and a very friendly environment. In addition, the free breakfast program (pilot) is an awesome way to start the day for all children,but especially from families with low economic resources.


Columbus Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
We were redistricted and it turned out to be a blessing in disguise. My children are flourishing at Columbus. They love all of their teachers. We are yet to have a bad experience there.

Columbus Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 26, 2009
- a parent
It's a special place! Everyone is pleasant. This includes administrators, staff and students.

Columbus Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 22, 2009
- a parent
I am the school nurse and I see first hand how great all of the Columbus staff, parents, and students are. Not only are they focused on the academics but basic values, social skills and school spirit. It's all about the whole student and family. Of course, health plays a huge part in all of this and the nurses are wonderful too.


Columbus Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
Columbus is more like a family & a community. The parents really pull together to make things happen for the kids at this school. The staff is phenomenal. And the Principal & Vice Principal make it a point to know each and every child. Great efforts are made by all at this school.

Columbus Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a teacher
The staff is the best in the city. We are like a castle in the sky.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbus Elementary School
37 Hicks Avenue, Medford, MA  02155
(781) 393-2177
Last modified Columbus Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Columbus Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top