Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Medford, MA
Students enrolled: 562
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John J. Mcglynn Middle School 5

Posted August 10, 2014
- a parent
this schools is the best school ever teachers are nice student are respectful love this schools

John J. Mcglynn Middle School 2

Posted December 18, 2012
- a community member
I was in the first pk-8 class to graduate (class of 2011). I never really enjoyed the McGlynn, but I started to dislike it in sixth grade. I would come home and start my homework at 3 or 4, and still be doing homework at 10 in the SEVENTH GRADE. Some of the teachers teach their classes at a high school level, which a middle schooler isn't ready for. I wanted to leave but my mom wouldn't allow it, but I'm SO GLAD I'm at MHS now.


John J. Mcglynn Middle School 4

Posted July 14, 2012
- a community member
McGlynn is actually an elementary and middle together, and I was here from K-8, and I must say, I enjoyed it. The dances could have been held better and the staff could have controlled the student body a bit better, but most of the teachers are excellent and the course is strong, making sure students get the help they need. I won't lie and say there's never a problem to be found, but many of the students here excel and the principle is fantastic, striving to improve the school.

John J. Mcglynn Middle School 5

Posted July 05, 2011
- a parent
I have 2 children who attended this school and both of my children had wonderful teachers. My daughter just completed sixth grade and I can't believe how incredibly supportive , kind and helpful her teachers were. Mrs. Tremble stayed after nearly every day to help my daughter and she ended up with straight A's. She changed from a shy, girl who was unsure of herself to a very confident child. my son excelled here and is moving on to high school. A person can always find something to complain about in a school, but if I ever had any issue, I would speak to the teacher or guidance and it was immediately resolved. This is a great school and I highley recommend it.

John J. Mcglynn Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The McGlynn school has a handful of great teachers one of them being the late Ms. Davis. Otherwise this school is a disappointment. This school is poorly organized from it's annual student agenda book (doesn't anyone proof read any more?!?) to it's parent-teacher nights which are rare poorly organized. The staff can be shamefully offensive in the way they handle things as many of the school staff speak very condescendingly towards parents. They are also very sarcastic in their communications which is not only inapporpriate but completely unprofessional. They send out necessary information at the last possible moment(example: 6th grade orientation announcement being 4 days prior to actual orientation itself). And the teachers do this to the kids too with homework etc. Talk about setting them up for failure. This school REALLY needs to get back to basics.


John J. Mcglynn Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2009
- a student
Great school. Beautiful, works well, wonderful teachers, qualified principal, and nice programs. Lack of communication, but it can be worked around.

John J. Mcglynn Middle School 3

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John J. Mcglynn Middle School 5

Posted March 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


John J. Mcglynn Middle School 1

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John J. Mcglynn Middle School 4

Posted February 28, 2007
- a parent
It is my son's first year in middle school and so far it's been a great experience.Contrary to what another parent said, I haven't had a problem with communicating with the teachers.I have called the school several times to speak with the teachers. I have always gotten a call back that day and spoke with the assistant principal immediately. Support is very helpful and the teachers are always available for extra help almost every day of the week if support is not enough.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John J. Mcglynn Middle School
3004 Mystic Valley Parkway, Medford, MA  02155
(781) 393-2333
Last modified John J. Mcglynn Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John J. Mcglynn Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top