Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Melrose, MA
Students enrolled: 1,026

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Melrose High School 2

Posted February 04, 2013
- a student
Walk through the halls of Melrose High School on an average day, and you'll see something that roughly resembles a prison. A lackluster student body is locked away in windowless classrooms of a building that no longer meets state regulatory codes with teachers who want to leave just as badly as their students do. Kids who take AP classes may be able to glean some semblance of a decent education from MHS, but average level classes are almost completely devoid of challenge or rigor of any kind. The school's administration has become increasingly unstable. I have had 3 principles in the past 4 years, and one year in which there actually was no active administration at all, merely a group of interim leaders. With the exception of one or two standout teachers who are actually quite dedicated, most of the staff is mediocre and on some occasions downright clueless. The guidance department is also fairly incompetent and each guidance counselor is responsible for over 300 students, making individual attention rare and inadequate. MHS not only teaches mediocrity, but truly encourages it as well. My four years at MHS were a painful and uninspiring waste of my time.

Melrose High School 1

Posted June 05, 2012
- a parent
Melrose High School might have been a good school at one time, but it is clearly a disgrace today. The new principal is an empty suit who cares more about boosting the school's reputation through public relations efforts, than about providing a quality education to the students enrolled there. Although there a few exceptions, most of the faculty are incompetent and disengaged. If anyone is considering sending a child to this place, please consider all alternatives, even if it means moving out of town. This school is terrible and getting worse.


Melrose High School 5

Posted October 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Melrose High School 1

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
Apathy runs rampant among the administrative staff and most teachers at this school unless you have a child who is in AP or Honors classes. If you have a child of 'average' intelligence, despite how involved a parent(s) you may be in your child's education, you'll not get much support or help from the administration or most of the teachers.

Melrose High School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
Great school. Good music and art programs. Plenty of afterschool sports, band and other programs. My children graduated from Melrose High School they enjoyed their high school years. Student graduates go on to college and are accepted by ivy leaque schools


Melrose High School 4

Posted January 28, 2006
- a parent
I'm a firm believer that you get out of public schools what you send to public schools. There is no question that if a supportive family sends a student who values education to Melrose High that a fantastic education can be had in this enviornment. My daughter is proof. Her AP and Honors classes were challenging, her SAT scores reflected that she had a great math and English background, and as a freshman at one of the nation's top ranked univerisities she is competing admirably with those who attended private schools or elite public schools. (Dean's List) We found teachers and staff at MHS to be extremely dedicated to the students and truly supportive and challenging. This is a public school - parents must be involved to ensure success of their children.

Melrose High School 5

Posted April 07, 2005
- a student
This is a fine school and i dont know what some of those other people were talking about. It has one of the best attendance records in the area and has great teachers. the after school activities are plentiful and the sports teams are some of the best in the league. The only bad part would be 2 hour practices every weekday. Overall i give this school an A+.

Melrose High School 2

Posted February 23, 2005
- a student
I've been attending this school for two and a half years and I agree with most of those who consider it a joke. A lot of classes are empty because students choose to skip and go out for a smoke or just go elsewhere for the rest of the day. There is often a shortage of help available so classes are herded to the cafeteria for free periods. Most students just don't care about their grades and refuse to put in any effort. Teachers are okay, but they've gotten rid of a lot of the good ones. Overall this school is just apathetic, students and staff alike.


Melrose High School 1

Posted January 06, 2005
- a student
Mhs is a not the ideal learning enviornment, i agree totally with one of the past reviews stating 'the dean of students is a joke, and the principal lacks knowlegde on how to do his job'. New teachers are needed! new staff would also be a very big step in the right direction, the hall monitors seem to care more about the students than the teachers/staff do (all are very nice.)

Melrose High School 4

Posted November 18, 2004
- a parent
Children have an opportunity to learn and participate in terrific programs to the extent of their and their parental interest. If your children are motivated, they have the opportunity to enjoy immense success at MHS.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Melrose High School
360 Lynn Fells Parkway, Melrose, MA  02176
(781) 979-2200
Last modified Melrose High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Melrose High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top