Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Melrose Montessori School

Private | PK-1 | 43 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Melrose

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $368,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

Melrose Montessori is a true Montessori experience. The teachers and Director are all Montessori trained and passionate about the education and development of young children. The classroom is a sight to see, 20 children working together orderly, quietly and focused. The materials are beautiful and well kept and organized which the children learn to respect and keep organized themselves. The children are also taught to respect each others work and work space. I love the Montessori approach and Melrose Montessori executes it exceptionally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

As a parent it breaks my heart to see my child in tears. I am very disappointed that the teachers and director doesn't take a more sympathic approach to making young children feel comfortable and at ease. We only choose this school over Harborlight because of the location.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2012

This is an excellent school! My older son went here and within few months itself I saw such a huge improvement in his behavior. He seemed so much happier and looked forward to going to school. He became more confident, friendlier and independent.The Director and the teachers are so sincere in their work. They genuinely care about teaching the children. HIghly Highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

The two years our daughter spent at Melrose Montessori School were so special ! I wish it went beyond 1st grade so she could continue to go there. Our now 8 year old daughter likes when we drive by "her old school" and still stops in to visit, she misses it. She emerged from the Melrose Montessori school with a love of learning, curiosity, and probably most important - deep empathy for her fellow classmates. Melrose Montessori is a rare gem of a school, and I enthusiastically recommend it to any parent who wants to instill joy and creativity in their child, while simultaneously grounded in the basics of reading, writing, and academic discipline. We looked at many area schools including other Montessori's and the Waldorf school, but the "vibe" both my wife and I got when we separately visited Montessori ended up being accurate. Our only wish was we didn't send our daughter here sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

In my opinion, this is the best Montessori School in New England because the head of school and teachers are true to the Montessori Method. I sent my daughter to this school almost 13 years ago and we still go back to visit. I cannot say enough about the Directress, who amazingly and astonishingly can point our your child's strengths during the first visit. Later, during classes, she knew exactly which lessons and activities to use to strengthen my daughter's challenges. Add in the fact that anyone who can get three year old boys and girls to perform a very professional musical every June never ceases to amaze parents! This school experience was the impetus behind my daughter's blossoming into a confident young girl, a critical thinker, and a curious learner and positive citizen of our global society. Any other school might have been a good school for her, but this Directress helped my daughter to feel safe to grow and try things while teaching me to find the positive in traits I considered negative. I will always be grateful for this experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2010

My 2 children attend this school and we love it! My children come home excited about what they have learned and accomplished during the day. They have become enthousiastic learners and can apply what they are taught to the real world. The teachers are responsive to you concerns and issues. The only downfall is that there is no playground but the kids do make every use possible of the classroom and the nearby parks to get physically active. The kids put on the most amazing performance in June.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

I have been a parent of my child attending this school for several years. I have always felt confident that my child is in very capable hands. The directress of this school is a remarkable woman with 30+ years experience in teaching Montessori. She instantly reads your child and pairs them in the best senario for learning. My child has been exposed to so many worthwhile, educational facts and practical life activites. The classrooms are rich with engaging materials. The children are responsible for themselves and learn to clean-up after themselves, serve themselves with snacks, drinks. Though there is no on-site playground, the children go on nature walks, visit parks, and do various forms of movement in class, from yoga to stretching, dancing. The end of year performace is something that you can really be proud of your child. They work very hard and do a wonderful job. Very satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

This is a great school! We visited several Montessori schools. This was the only one that delivered as 'advertised' on the philosophy and running of a Montessori school. The director has a clear vision and a wealth of experience to make this school the success that it is. The classrooms are rich learning environments and the children are always engaged. Learning is inquiry based and the children frequently go beyond the lessons on their own initiative. Rules are established and observed by social / group contract. They do not have a playground but make use of local parks for outdoor activities. At the end of the year there is a very impressive staged play or musical in which all the children participate. It seems quite professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 69%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 5%
Black 0% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 15%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • Other Montessori

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

70 West Emerson Street
Melrose, MA 02176

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Mary's School
Melrose, MA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT