Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Methuen High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1804 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

My daughter is currently a Junior at Methuen High. Freshman year the school tried to terminate her services based on her modified but successful Comprehensive Grammar school days. When we were deciding where to send her for high school I was told the Langauage Intervention program no loonger existed at the High school. Well come to find out after private testing that reaffirm the learning disablity it did exist but seems like the Special Education department is trying to make it disapear. Also my daughter was on the JV basketball team and the coach who was part of the team that wanted to terminate her serives made sure she praised my daughter at practice then in games would belittle her in front of her teammates. I am very disappointed with the direction of the Methuen school system. Itseems their numbers may be down but that is because they are not testing to find the true disablities. Sad I wish I moved to a better community that would support parents in their journey to help our children succeed in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

Great school...Renovations are excellent! Student/teacher ration is solid. I couldn't be happier! We have been thrilled with the money that is going into the public school system!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Im a senior on school, and methuen high school has been great for me, I've enjoyed a lot of groupd and activities they have. They are pretty fun yo join. It doesnt matter if it has walls or not, because the teachers are super great there, they are so nice and finally MHS has improved a lot, since it been under construction from 2012, and now the school is going to be looking great>
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2013

Methuen High has been burdened with a stigma that it doesn't deserve. Sure, it's outdated and lacks full walls due to the open-concept(which is for a reason! Some people think they couldn't afford walls. Pshh.) but when it comes down to it, the school is what you make of it. They offer a multitude of rigorous, challenging courses and they even participate in the Advanced Placement (AP) program. In short, I reitterate, it's all in what you make of it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2010

Great services for special needs kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Methuen High School is a great school with dedicated teachers. I learned beyond textbooks and videos about the broader world and how to be more aware of our condensed surroundings. The school will be undergoing a much needed renovation and will need any additional support it can receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2008

To most, methuen high is a joke. I really think the school is what you make of it. Most frown upon the school because of its lacking structure and bad reputation. Picking your classes is the most important. If you take a level 2 and sometimes level 3 classes, the other kids can effect your education. if you take level 4 classes, youre with more serious students and i really feel it helps to strengthen the education you receive.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2008

Everyone is involved, and we have a great group of motivated kids. There are so many extracurricular activities as well, and mr.Nick is at every single event. Every sports game, every dance, everything. He is always there and so involved and passionate about methuen high school. Our teachers at methuen high are also highly involved not only with after school help but with the clubs and sports teams. I don't know any teacher that isn't involved in an extra curricular activity, club, or sport. This school has spirit and heart. We have a reputation for helping others, such as the thousands of dollars we raised for the tsunami and hurricane victims. This school is a community, a family, and a comfort. I love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2008

I am freshman here at Methuen and I am having a blast. Even though the school is lacking some walls the teachers make up for it. When i first got there i thought i was going to have a hard time with the open concept, but i eventually got used to it. The only thing i would change is the heating system and the computer rooms. Mr. Nick does a good job of putting the students first. He really cares about us and wants only the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2007

As a senior at Methuen High, I must say that the school has an unfair reputation. What the school lacks in state-of-the-art equipment that younger buildings may have, it makes up in extraordinary teachers who work diligently with every student that needs their help. MHS has an abundance of extra curricular activites including: varsity, jv, and freshman athletics, fine arts, and a plethora of clubs. The adminstrators keep the students in line with a firm hand, and education is ALWAYS the top priority. The teachers will stop at nothing to help a student reach their potential. I know they did with me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2005

I am a Senior at MHS, I have to say the school isnt that bad..The school isn't in the best shape and a new high school sould be taken into consideration..the heating and cooling system is real old, and the ventalation system isn't top notch..some rooms have no windows and can be very hot, and some rooms specificaly the science department can be extremly cold in the winter time..The teachers overall are pretty good Mr.Nick the principle is the man. He is strict but fun at the same time, its his way or the highway, he expects the best from everyone at all times. If I could make a suggestion to any parent debating where to send there child..Try going to a private school, MHS is real old and it shows, the school is in terrible shape.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2005

I'm a freshman here at Methuen High School and the school year is almost over. Mr. Nick, the principal here at MHS is probably one of the best principals I've ever had in my entire life. He was always there for any of the sports games, shows, plays, and he was even there for our homecoming! There are many clubs and extracurricular activities which are great for meeting many new people. During my first week there, I never thought I'd be able to get used to the crowded hallways or the 'no walls' but when I look back on it now, I'd never in a million years would I ever think about transferring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2004

I would just like to say that I have recently graduated from methuen high school, and even though there were many obstacles I had to overcome in four years, the school made it possible. I didn't know how I would do with the lack of walls, but I was able to adjust without a problem. I would also like to say that Mr. Nick is one of the best principles I've ever had and he made my senior year the best. There was never a cheerleading competition he wasn't at. Thanks for a great year!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

413 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female94%
Male85%
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities47%
English language learners33%

Math

All Students75%
Female75%
Male75%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities19%
English language learners20%

Science

All Students68%
Female72%
Male66%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
59%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students70%
Female72%
Male66%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Students9%
Femalen/a
Male13%
African Americann/a
Hispanic11%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners0%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

57%

Average SAT score

1349

Graduation rate

79%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 67%
Hispanic 27% 16%
Black 3% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (978) 722-6042

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Ranger Rd
Methuen, MA 01844
Phone: (978) 722-6040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT