Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Presentation of Mary Academy

Private | 9-12 | 210 students

Presentation of Mary Academy has a family like atmosphere.
 
 

 
 

Living in Methuen

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $213,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

PMA is a Catholic, co-ed, college preparatory high school. PMA prides itself on helping every student discover who he or she really is! Each and every staff member gives the students 100%!!!! Come "Discover You!" at PMA!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 2, 2014

I loved this school. I am a graduated from the late 1990s and found that I was so prepared for college that I tested out of a number of level one classes my first year college. The study and educational skills I learned at PMA served me well throughout college and graduate school. I would highly recommend it.


Posted March 29, 2008

Excellent school! As a graduate of this school, I was extremely well prepared for college and grad school.


Posted December 4, 2007

I am a sophomore at pma and I love it! The girls are great and the teachers are always so kind and willing to help. They always have fun activities going on and everyone is always excited and spirited. As the winner of 2 spirit awards last year, I know hwo important a good sense of school spirit is to PMA. In conclusion, it is a fantastic school, and I would recommend it to anyone. Go PMA!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2007

I am a student here at pma and i would highly reccommend it. The teachers are very intelligent and are always willing to offer help. The environment is always a positive one. Its great to come to school here everyday!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2006

As a parent of two daughters attending PMA I am very pleased with the staff support, scholastic structure, and personnal help this school provides for them. My daughters are involved in many extra activitie in the school and enjoy helping out as often as they can. As my senior is preparing ahead for college she can't beleive how fast her four years have gone by. I do and will recommend PMA to all adults looking for a great education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

My daughter went to PMA and I would not recommend it. The principal's leadership has a lot to be desired. She is unable to hang on to good teachers and does little in the way of Campus Ministry. My daughter graduated despising the place for many reasons!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

I'm a current student at PMA. The teachers here are always willing to help in any way they can. My geometry teacher stays every single day for almost an hour to help students who are struggling. I'm in the band and jazz band at the presentation. We work very hard at rehearsals and although we don't have a large selection of music to choose from, we make the best of what we have to put on a good show. Sports are very important to the school. Being an athlete at PMA has showed my peers and myself the importance of teamwork. Parents are invited to help in any way that they can. They are involved in the PAC, which runs sports activities and offers a yearly scholarship. PMA is a great place for young women to get a terrific education while growing into confident adults ready to face the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2005

I am currently a student at Presentation of Mary. I am a junior and this is my first year. I came to this school and found that it was a total 180 from the public highschool i was attending before. I noticed that the parents are really involved and that the school is so well structured. I love all the nuns. I love the staff and the lunch is really good. It is really safe. The teachers love to give help too. GO PMA!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 67%
Hispanic 15% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 1% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:25 am
School end time
  • 2:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Rose Maria Redman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (978) 975-3595

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • carpool
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Archery
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

209 Lawrence Street
Methuen, MA 01844
Website: Click here
Phone: (978) 682-9391

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT