Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Presentation of Mary Academy

Private | 9-12 | 177 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Methuen

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $213,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2008

Excellent school! As a graduate of this school, I was extremely well prepared for college and grad school.


Posted December 4, 2007

I am a sophomore at pma and I love it! The girls are great and the teachers are always so kind and willing to help. They always have fun activities going on and everyone is always excited and spirited. As the winner of 2 spirit awards last year, I know hwo important a good sense of school spirit is to PMA. In conclusion, it is a fantastic school, and I would recommend it to anyone. Go PMA!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2007

I am a student here at pma and i would highly reccommend it. The teachers are very intelligent and are always willing to offer help. The environment is always a positive one. Its great to come to school here everyday!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2006

As a parent of two daughters attending PMA I am very pleased with the staff support, scholastic structure, and personnal help this school provides for them. My daughters are involved in many extra activitie in the school and enjoy helping out as often as they can. As my senior is preparing ahead for college she can't beleive how fast her four years have gone by. I do and will recommend PMA to all adults looking for a great education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

My daughter went to PMA and I would not recommend it. The principal's leadership has a lot to be desired. She is unable to hang on to good teachers and does little in the way of Campus Ministry. My daughter graduated despising the place for many reasons!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

I'm a current student at PMA. The teachers here are always willing to help in any way they can. My geometry teacher stays every single day for almost an hour to help students who are struggling. I'm in the band and jazz band at the presentation. We work very hard at rehearsals and although we don't have a large selection of music to choose from, we make the best of what we have to put on a good show. Sports are very important to the school. Being an athlete at PMA has showed my peers and myself the importance of teamwork. Parents are invited to help in any way that they can. They are involved in the PAC, which runs sports activities and offers a yearly scholarship. PMA is a great place for young women to get a terrific education while growing into confident adults ready to face the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2005

I am currently a student at Presentation of Mary. I am a junior and this is my first year. I came to this school and found that it was a total 180 from the public highschool i was attending before. I noticed that the parents are really involved and that the school is so well structured. I love all the nuns. I love the staff and the lunch is really good. It is really safe. The teachers love to give help too. GO PMA!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 69%
Hispanic 11% 15%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 8%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

209 Lawrence Street
Methuen, MA 01844
Phone: (978) 686-4462

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT