Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Agatha School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Milton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $425,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2014

I graduated in 1965 and want on to public school, I was so far ahead in every subject I could have received all A's without opening a book. Public school was a JOKE then and from what I see it still is today. When over 27% of public high schools 12th grade graduating classes in 2013 were unable to read or write basic English, forget math and science. Teachers just keep passing illiterate students to receive federal funding (our tax dollars) maybe it's time to stop throwing more and more money at a BROKEN public education system. We need more private schools like st. Agatha's before we become a 3rd world nation. Thankfully I was lucky enough to attend.


Posted August 2, 2014

Wonderful school! My child transferred from Milton public school last year, and we are beyond thrilled! top notch academics, family atmosphere, and so much more. My child is happy, and I am happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

I have one child currently enrolled and two children who have graduated. I have had challenging and positive experiences but all were worked through with professionalism. I am very happy with the work load and the education my children are getting they were well prepared for private high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

I remember sitting in class in 1958 and raising my hand to go to the boy's room - Sister did not let boy's go to the bathroom on non schedual times but girls could? I sat in my own urin all day being laughed at by my fellow students. This happend all year with many other boy students. Some of those sisters were SICK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I am one of many parents who took my child out of St. Agatha's school. The experience we had at this school was no less than damaging to my child. Teaching styles are rigid and haven't changed in the past 40 years. The principal is responsible for low morale. She continues to intimidate her staff, even in front of parents. She intimidates parents and students as well, even yelling at them. My child is doing very well in a new school; what a difference the academic setting makes! St. Agatha's is by no means a Christian environment and I would never recommed this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

The school is okay. I have had my children go to this school. The staff and faculty doesn't know how to arrange fieldtrips. They have no effort to try and do a fundraiser or to raise some money in some. They just send a notice home telling you that you need to pay this amount for your child to participate in the trip. I have known parents in which in the end ... they have paid up to 600 dollars in graduation fees. The school should be conrtibuting some money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

school needs to upgrade. my 7th grader comes home with less than 1/2 hour of homework while getting honor roll. should not happen. students not pushed hard enough. there are some children in the school who get away with to much , this is why they lose many at 7th grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

I recently pulled my child from this school and placed him in a public middle school as there is more to offer, such as electives, two languages to choose from, an Honors Arts class and advanced math. My child can take drama or band, all elective courses. There isn't even the room to teach these classes at this school. Discipline was an issue at this school as well as how the principal communicated with teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

The curriculum at St. Agatha is need of an overhaul - especially the english/writing and science curriculum. The void left by the departure of a respected science teacher last year has not been filled. The principal is condescending, arrogant, and downright rude to her staff and parents. For a christian school, one would expect a more welcoming leader who embraces the entire community. The teaching staff is good, though some should think about retirement. The new teachers are young and some lack to the experience and leadership to effectively manage their classrooms. Trouble maker students have infiltrated the school and nothing is done; they are rarely suspended and never expelled. Academic standards have been lowered such that failing students are routinely passed along to the next grade. With effective leadership by a principal who respects, and is respected by, the staff and parents, St Agatha can become a great school again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

My child has attended St. Agatha Elementary since kindergarten. While I have had mostly positive experiences I will note that there are one or two teachers who have clearly seen the highlights of their careers and should go. The curriculum is slightly below average, especially in the 4th and 5th grades. Strides, however, have been made in this area and they are continuing. The principal has always been receptive and shows a great commitment and caring toward the success of St. Agatha. Parental involvement is a hugh part of life at St. Agatha and to some degree too big a part. They appear to be rather self serving as if their presence at the school will somehow benefit their child's work in the classroom. The amount of 'hang around' time during the morning dropoff by some of these parents is excessive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

St A s is a good Catholic school; although with so many students from Randolph, it is losing its once strong Parish feel. It is not great and it is not bad. The elementary curriculum lacks a formal second language. The elementary math and science curriculum are okay but in comparison with other area schools, not up to standards. Science at the middle school level is above average with a dicated highly motivated teacher. If you have a budding scientist, St. A s middle school is a deal. The Principal, initially welcoming, will cut you to ribbons if you have an issue or criticism. She is, as all Catholic Principals, over worked, overwhelmed with responsibility areas, not enough time or pay. On a good day, she is great, on a bad, watch out. Too many kids with special needs and no teacher aides. The Resource Teacher regularly unavailable covering for sick/absent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

I have 3 children in St. Agatha and have had many instances when I needed to communicate with the principal (whether it be for academic or behavioral reasons -- good or bad). She has always been willing to listen and help whenever possible! The curriculum has been updated including new textbooks and several new, young, energetic teachers have been hired over the last couple of years much to my pleasure! Class size is usually in the 20-24 range (in fact the kindergarten has no more than 18). While there is room for improvement in any school, I feel that St. Agatha has made great strides by implementing technology updates and even introduced Spanish and computers to the kindergarteners! Parent involvement is very high and also a key component to the school's success. If you are looking for a small, parochial elementary school, I highly recommend St. Agatha.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

While St Agatha is making steady strides at improving its curriculum, it, like most other Boston area Catholic schools, is using curriculum that is often less than state of the art. While many of its teachers are capable, many are also retired ex-public school teachers and thus often less than current, however experienced. The principal is often unlistening and seemingly all but unwilling to accept legitimate parental concerns, much less warranted criticism, and she is particularly negative toward the messenger when she is found to be mistaken. Class size typically runs in the mid-20's and higher. While the school is a generally well-maintained facility, much of the physical plant is overdue for at least a moderate refurbishing. On the plus side of things, there is considerable parental involvment and the general climate of the school is a positive one. Even so, this school is far from what I seek and cannot recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2005

St. Agatha is an outstanding school, with a faculty fully committed to the educational, spiritual, and social development of each child. The school offers students a sound education,structure, and discipline. The values that are communicated to children daily reflect the same values that I have established for my daughter at home. I highly recommend St. Agatha School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 67%
Black 11% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hispanic 2% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

440 Adams Street
Milton, MA 02186
Phone: (617) 696-3548

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Montclair
Quincy, MA


Wollaston School
Quincy, MA



Milton Academy
Milton, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT