Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Milton Academy

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Milton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $425,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2013

I am very excited to go to this school. I really am proud I get to go to this school. It is a good chance to become a higher level in the community.


Posted February 4, 2012

The workload is tough to manage and the expectations are very high. The sense of community and friends you make are unforgettable. The teachers are very knowledgeable and dedicated. The faculty provides numerous opportunities that are life-changing. Milton does a great job with building students' confidences and gives them the training to become more vocal and articulate in classroom and real-world settings. Great place to be a part of.


Posted January 7, 2012

This school has an incredible community, especially for boarders but also among the day students. Diverse and supportive, Milton offers a rigorous academic career for those who want it. However, considering Milton as an arts school is ridiculous, which is why I haven't gotten what I wanted out of it yet. As a freshman you will have few choices, but by the time you're a senior you may already know and pursue a major. A lot of freedom and responsibility to go with it.


Posted October 16, 2011

A really amazing school that transforms its students. Excellent, well-thought out curriculum, nice and smart students, and expert and caring faculty. This school is consistently regarded as one of the world's most outstanding upper schools, and -- based on our child's experience -- deserves it. Best of all, the school really does mean it when it says that its goal is to help your child realize his/her full potential, rather than grind its students into submission in a short-sighted attempt to increase the number of Ivy League college admissions. The Milton experience is all about learning how to think critically and creatively, building the self-confidence to make your mark in life, and experiencing the fun of learning. A truly great institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

this school was really great for my child who just finished there and is off to Yale. They offer amazing academic training along with great athletics and art program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

Terrific school for motivated kids who want to learn. Flexible curriculum to allow students to explore areas indepth. Alot of work, but the majority of students love their classes and seem to willingly put in the extra time. Faculty are truly interested in the students and care about them. Teaching is not directed at standardized tests. Place is very intense academically, but not competitive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

I know this review is supposed to be written by a parent, but I felt as a student entering Milton this coming September, and having toured the school two or three times, I may give you a basic idea of Milton Academy. It includes a rigorous academic life, that is balanced with extracurricular activities. The teachers I noticed were very supportive, and after sitting in three different classes, I determined that the teachers love for the students to question everything they see and to discuss it openly. Conversations are led by the students rather than the teachers. The campus is wonderful, similiar to that of a college. I come from Southfield School, also a wonderful school which I attended for nine years. I think Milton is perfect for the creative, the thinkers, the scientists, the writers, the muscians, the sculptors, the photographers, the mathematician, and anyone else. See Milton.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2006

Both my daughters attended Milton as boarders, and I think it is the greatest school in the US. Milton staff don't know all the answers, but they're asking the right questions. Perfect blend of large day school and small boarding community. My daughters bonded with day girls and their families. Boston is perfect city for this age. Milton is not cloistered. When we first interviewed there, my husband asked an English teacher, 'why do you teach here?' and he replied, 'because the kids are so smart.' One of the college counselors later said to me, 'if you are smart and you are not lazy, Milton is a great place for you.' My daughters were not at the top of their classes at all, but they were certainly empowered and challenged by extraordinary minds. They are now very strong young women. There are many ways to succeed at Milton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

My son attended Milton Academy as a boarding student from 9-12 grades. It was an EXCELLENT school for him. Top notch teaching, almost any interest can be supported, very generous financial aid, interesting students, great facilities. Accesibility and availability make participation in activities user friendly. My only practical reservation (as the parent of a boarding student) is that, since the boarding population is smaller than the day population (and MANY boarders live nearby and therefore have parents nearby), the school could be MUCH more supportive of the boarding community e.g., shuttles to and from Logan airport during major vacations, opportunities for students to obtain things like toiletries at local shopping center (better yet, have tampons, toothpaste, soap, availalbe in the dorm), free use of washers and dryers, user friendly local field trips, AND more help arranging college visits for boarders. GREAT school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 6%
Black 9% 8%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Hispanic 3% 16%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • TABS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

170 Centre Street
Milton, MA 02186
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 898-2280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Agatha School
Milton, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT