Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
997 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Milton Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 10, 2016
- a community member
Thank you for showing around the school i really apreciate it i hope i can go next year

Milton Academy 5

Posted March 10, 2016
- a community member
I visited this school and i love it i hope next year for 7th grade i can go there.


Milton Academy 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a community member
I am very excited to go to this school. I really am proud I get to go to this school. It is a good chance to become a higher level in the community.

Milton Academy 5

Posted February 04, 2012
- a community member
The workload is tough to manage and the expectations are very high. The sense of community and friends you make are unforgettable. The teachers are very knowledgeable and dedicated. The faculty provides numerous opportunities that are life-changing. Milton does a great job with building students' confidences and gives them the training to become more vocal and articulate in classroom and real-world settings. Great place to be a part of.

Milton Academy 5

Posted January 07, 2012
- a community member
This school has an incredible community, especially for boarders but also among the day students. Diverse and supportive, Milton offers a rigorous academic career for those who want it. However, considering Milton as an arts school is ridiculous, which is why I haven't gotten what I wanted out of it yet. As a freshman you will have few choices, but by the time you're a senior you may already know and pursue a major. A lot of freedom and responsibility to go with it.


Milton Academy 5

Posted October 16, 2011
- a parent
A really amazing school that transforms its students. Excellent, well-thought out curriculum, nice and smart students, and expert and caring faculty. This school is consistently regarded as one of the world's most outstanding upper schools, and -- based on our child's experience -- deserves it. Best of all, the school really does mean it when it says that its goal is to help your child realize his/her full potential, rather than grind its students into submission in a short-sighted attempt to increase the number of Ivy League college admissions. The Milton experience is all about learning how to think critically and creatively, building the self-confidence to make your mark in life, and experiencing the fun of learning. A truly great institution.

Milton Academy 5

Posted November 09, 2008
- a parent
this school was really great for my child who just finished there and is off to Yale. They offer amazing academic training along with great athletics and art program.

Milton Academy 5

Posted February 26, 2007
- a parent
Terrific school for motivated kids who want to learn. Flexible curriculum to allow students to explore areas indepth. Alot of work, but the majority of students love their classes and seem to willingly put in the extra time. Faculty are truly interested in the students and care about them. Teaching is not directed at standardized tests. Place is very intense academically, but not competitive.


Milton Academy 5

Posted June 09, 2006
- a student
I know this review is supposed to be written by a parent, but I felt as a student entering Milton this coming September, and having toured the school two or three times, I may give you a basic idea of Milton Academy. It includes a rigorous academic life, that is balanced with extracurricular activities. The teachers I noticed were very supportive, and after sitting in three different classes, I determined that the teachers love for the students to question everything they see and to discuss it openly. Conversations are led by the students rather than the teachers. The campus is wonderful, similiar to that of a college. I come from Southfield School, also a wonderful school which I attended for nine years. I think Milton is perfect for the creative, the thinkers, the scientists, the writers, the muscians, the sculptors, the photographers, the mathematician, and anyone else. See Milton.

Milton Academy 5

Posted March 30, 2006
- a parent
Both my daughters attended Milton as boarders, and I think it is the greatest school in the US. Milton staff don't know all the answers, but they're asking the right questions. Perfect blend of large day school and small boarding community. My daughters bonded with day girls and their families. Boston is perfect city for this age. Milton is not cloistered. When we first interviewed there, my husband asked an English teacher, 'why do you teach here?' and he replied, 'because the kids are so smart.' One of the college counselors later said to me, 'if you are smart and you are not lazy, Milton is a great place for you.' My daughters were not at the top of their classes at all, but they were certainly empowered and challenged by extraordinary minds. They are now very strong young women. There are many ways to succeed at Milton.

Nearby schools

Milton Academy
170 Centre Street, Milton, MA  02186
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (617) 898-2280
Last modified Milton Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top