Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
293 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Family Holy Name School 3

Posted October 07, 2015
- a student
The teachers at HFHN are nice, but one or two aren't so nice. The students are expected to do everything as they say and to not question the teachers or defend themselves when unjustly treated because it would be considered back talking. Also boys and girls are not allowed to hug? I was not aware that when the opposite gender hug it is sexualized when they are just children. They over-sexualize almost everything, girls wearing skinny jeans because it will "distract the boys" they are not even allowed to paint their nails! They say to follow the dress code, but then I notice teachers with brightly painted nails, and more then 2 bracelts on each hands. If you are trying to teach the children to follow the dress code, might as well tell the teachers to also follow it because we wouldn't want to distract the students correct?

Holy Family Holy Name School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted October 07, 2015
- a student
I put disagree because the students are not treated equally and not allowed to defend themselves or it would be considered back talking. The adults would side with the teacher because a teacher is harder to replace then a student remember that.


Holy Family Holy Name School 4

Posted April 19, 2011
- a community member
The school is great in the fact that it is a close community and you will really get to know the other students and the teachers. Although, since the grades share teachers if you don't like a teacher you have you are stuck with them for two years. The school takes modesty to far. They yell at you if your skirt comes an inch above your Knee and PDA (public display of affection such as a simple hug) is unacceptable. The girls have to wear tights all year long no matter the weather and this can be extremely hot and uncomfortable. The education is all one level too. if you excel in Science or any subject you have to stay with the rest of the class. This causes the "slower" students to have low grades and the "smarter" students to become bored. Fundraisers are often promoted to the point of annoyance and some are required or an extra fee is added to your tuition. I suggest a bake sale during school hours of cookies or such. Overall the school is decent and i do not regret my time here although there are definite changes needed.

Holy Family Holy Name School 5

Posted February 13, 2011
- a parent
My child has had a great year so far and loves her school! We are very happy with our decision to enroll our daughter at holy family holy name school. The entire staff is a little community with one goal...educating our children. The extended care hours are perfect for working parents and the academics are top notch. I would not hesitate to recommend HFHN to any parent! Keep up the great work!

Holy Family Holy Name School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I love this school because the entire school community is passionate about all that they do....spirituality, education, and service! Bouyah!


Holy Family Holy Name School 5

Posted July 20, 2007
- a parent
What an awesome experience for my son. He loves his school, teacher and I love the fact that he is getting structure and discipline while receiving a top notch education. The small size of the school is a plus but hurts when providing more extracurricular activites to the younger grades. They have an excellent extended care program with opportunites to participate in yoga and Math Fit along with Mad Science. Every week my son comes home & teaches me something new. Parents should be involved and are given many opportunities to do just that. Every day the principal (or another staff member) welcomes every child into school by name. Whenever an issue has arisen i.e. ill child or discipline issue, the school has been caring and responsive to my and my son's needs and/or concerns. I highly recommend Holy Family/Holy Name School.

Holy Family Holy Name School 5

Posted February 03, 2007
- a parent
After attending both public and parochial schools ourselves, my husband and I wanted a parochial education for our children. We have chosen the best school in Holy Family-Holy Name!! The parents are extremely involved and supportive in their childrens' education (both spiritually and academically), and the teachers and staff are truly top notch! My children are receiving an incredible education and I know they will excel in high school and college. Even though one of my children has a learning disorder, her teachers and principal constantly meet with us and keep us informed of her progress and accommodate her needs. Fantastic school!

Holy Family Holy Name School 5

Posted June 13, 2006
- a parent
Our daughter has attended HFHN for Kindergarten and first grade and she has had a wonderful, enriching experience. She has excelled academically and has gained invaluable social skills. The faculty, staff, and environment are all first rate. We would not hesitate to recommend HFHN to any parent wanting a top quality education for their child.


Holy Family Holy Name School 5

Posted September 15, 2004
- a parent
Holy Family Holy Name is an outstanding school. From the top to the bottom this school does it right. I've had the opportunity to work with a few other schools in the area and HFHN stands head and shoulders above the rest. The principal Cecilia Felix is very respected among her peers and a loving and devoted educator. If you are looking for professionalism and a nuturing catholic education, HFHN is the place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Family Holy Name School
91 Summer Street, New Bedford, MA  02740
(508) 993-3547
Last modified Holy Family Holy Name School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Holy Family Holy Name School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top