Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5 & Ungraded
Public
Newton Centre, MA
Students enrolled: 437

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mason-Rice Elementary School 4

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
Curriculum is set town wide, so same for all 13 schools. The student body is amazing- super super bright, diverse, interesting kids and families from all over the world. Income level high, but as a family solidly in the middle, we all feel warmly welcomed. Our house is smaller, car more beat up, and vacations less exotic, but no one cares in the least. The building is rundown like all public schools in US, and boys are expected to adhere too much to the "sit still and don't make fart jokes" mentality that plagues all elementary schools because all the teachers are women. Other comments are correct, principal focuses on social - and very bright kids will find some subjects not challenging enough. We've found workarounds with after school groups and projects, and my kids have so many peers who are equally academically talented that they benefit a lot from those friendships. These kids, like their folks, are the future nonprofit directors, CEOs, and MIT professors of tomorrow. Amazing non clique PTO with working and nonworking moms and dads very involved.
1 person found this helpful

Mason-Rice Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2014
- a parent
Great neighborhood school. Solid. Good teachers, principal, amazing art and library teachers. Caring community. Great new playground.


Mason-Rice Elementary School 1

Posted August 09, 2013
- a parent
I guess this would be a great school if you are wealthy but for us low income people, not so good. This school consists or spoiled kids (what 5th grader needs an IPod touch, iphone, and ipad???) who's parents feel entitled just because they have money. Really pretentious parents who block the drive way with their BMW's while they chat each other up so no other cars can get by.

Mason-Rice Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2011
- a parent
Mason Rice is an outstanding school, with a great sense of community, perfect teachers, and the best principal. We are so lucky to have our two children there! Cannot wait to have our youngest there, as well.

Mason-Rice Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
incredible community, principal, teachers, kids!


Mason-Rice Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
This is the school to attend. Mason-Rice is a picture of excellence. I rate it 5 stars!

Mason-Rice Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2009
- a community member
Being new to the area we were concerned about the schools. By all accounts, Mason-Rice is outstanding!
1 person found this helpful

Mason-Rice Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2009
- a parent
Mason Rice is an outstanding school, with top notch teachers and an outstanding principal. There is a great sense of community among parents, teachers, and kids. We're lucky to have our kids there!


Mason-Rice Elementary School 4

Posted January 08, 2007
- a parent
A wonderful school with dedicated teachers and friendly, very involved parents. Rare weak teacher, no 'bad' teachers. As with most public schools in Massachusetts, Mason Rice has suffered cuts which decrease the amount of art, music and library the kids get. Of note, OUTSTANDING afterschool program right at the school. Even kids w/only one working parent beg to be able to go once or twice a week. Mason Rice also benefits by having its nice playground abut the large and open Newton Center Playground with its fields. Few after school activities, including Spanish Club, chess, and ceramics. Previous commment by a parent states experience varies widely based on teacher, and that might be true, but the excellent teachers are as good as the expensive private schools. I have 2 kids here and have experienced K thru 5. I would definitely recommend this school!

Mason-Rice Elementary School 3

Posted July 12, 2005
- a parent
An extemely friendly school, as long as you're a Democrat or left-of-Democrat. Academic quality varies greatly with teachers. Principal emphasizes the social over the academic.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mason-Rice Elementary School
149 Pleasant St, Newton Centre, MA  02459
(617) 559-9570
Last modified Mason-Rice Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mason-Rice Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top