Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5 & Ungraded
Public
Newton Highlands, MA

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Countryside Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2014
- a community member
This school is great.Unlike what other reviews said,there is a kitchen and the teaching is great.They also have a perfect anti bullying system.The only thing is that the school could use some renovations.specifically bathrooms.

Countryside Elementary School 2

Posted December 09, 2013
- a parent
My son started at this school FEB 2013 in the 4th grade. Now he is in the 5th grade. This is a terrible school. The standards are low, the administration is overwhelmed and there is a lot of bullying. We paid $800K for our house to get this terrible school. If we had paid $1K we would have gotten Memorial Spaulding, a much better school. We are very very disappointed.


Countryside Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Great atmosphere! All teachers my son has was amazing! Especially love EEL program in there, very much personal attention to each student!

Countryside Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
Despite what another review noted her about the premises, the premises here are fine. More importantly than what a school looks like is how they educate your children. The principal puts an emphasis on excellent teachers, and that has been my experience from grades K through 5. As for curriculum, the music program is excellent, as are other creative programs. The standard instruction (math and science) is also excellent, but I believe creative studies are equally important and this is where this school and Newton schools in general are way ahead. A strong emphasis on the creative arts, coupled with increased state funding for the arts means that Newton educates some of the most creative kids in the country.

Countryside Elementary School 3

Posted November 18, 2011
- a parent
Curriculum lags behind other schools in the area. psychological bullying is an issue and as early as 3rd grade kids are expected to be wearing A&F and Aeropostale. Kids without real Uggs are made fun of. The teachers are trying but the school is over crowded. The school doesn't have a kitchen so the school lunches are shipped in from outside, have to be purchased ahead of time, don't seem all that nutritious, and you can't go eat lunch with your child. Overall, I am not impressed with this school, but it satisfies the minimum qualifications. The building is very old and needs renovating badly.


Countryside Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school in a good neighborhood in MA. Teachers are excellent and experienced. Principal is highly supportive.

Countryside Elementary School 3

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
Seemingly good school in a fundamentally high acheiving school district. Could use renovation. My experience is staff could benefit from real diversity training. Cultural awareness goes a long way in being able to properly teach & respond to students-

Countryside Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2010
- a parent
I think Countryside is a very stong school in terms of curriculum, leadership and of course its teachers. The afterschool program is excellent!


Countryside Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Countryside Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Countryside Elementary School
191 Dedham St, Newton Highlands, MA  02461
(617) 559-9450
Last modified Countryside Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Countryside Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top