Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charles E Brown Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Thank you to Elise Wulff! She and Kate Jewett were important to our son's middle school years

Charles E Brown Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
There is a certainly lack of consistency, but overall I don't feel teachers are inspirational


Charles E Brown Middle School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
I fear that in general kids do not appreciate the consequences of grades' nor display overall work ethic. Although I can't blame Brown. This is a societal dilemma.

Charles E Brown Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Brown has a program for kids on the autism spectrum, which is mainstream with help in social skills, organization and more. My son has been in the program for three years and is thriving. The counselors are passionate and committed. This has been a great experience for us.

Charles E Brown Middle School 1

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
Only a couple of teachers are really passionate and enthusiastic, doing their job properly. The administration is focused on policing and punishing rather than on educating and instructing. Most of the secretaries are rude to me and to my kids. I am disgusted by this school.


Charles E Brown Middle School
Grateful to: Student

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
I have to say THANK YOU! to my kids for still going to this school with all the bad experiences it threw at them. I deeply regret my poor choice of schools. At the time I made that choice, Newton Public School HAD a good reputation. Unfortunately that reputation does not apply to Charles E. Brown Middle School.

Charles E Brown Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
Turnover, lack of consistency in the curriculum and a few teachers that need to be pushed out the door.

Charles E Brown Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
Our child was not given the level of homework her peers received in the other middle schools.


Charles E Brown Middle School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
School is not equipped to instill these skills. Several students we know seek outside tutoring to bolster skills.

Charles E Brown Middle School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
The school is merely trying to get these kids through the system, common of most public schools.

Nearby schools

Charles E Brown Middle School
125 Meadowbrook Road, Newton, MA  02459
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (617) 559-6900
Last modified Charles E Brown Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top