Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
394 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brimmer & May School 3

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
A lot of money for mediocre education. If you live in a descent school district AVOID! Nothing special is happening here. From what I can tell, this school accepts any child whose parents can pay the tuition. Most of the students are from Boston, looking for a better option than what is available in Boston, or else they couldn't hack it in the competitive schools in Brookline and Newton, so Mommy and Daddy are paying for their Diploma. Keep looking.

Brimmer & May School 5

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
This is a gem of a school that has a little bit of everything, packaged in an intimate, friendly atmosphere. The students are happy and respectful of each other, and learning is made enjoyable. Academics, theatre and sports are all integrated in a way that allows maximum student partipation.


Brimmer & May School 5

Posted December 26, 2014
- a parent
Brimmer and May is a great school brimming (pardon the pun) with lots of intangibles -- individualized attention, excellent teachers, a respectful community that teaches integrity and develops great world citizens. A student can explore a a myriad of possibilities here, and will find support for whatever he or she chooses. They also do co-education in a very healthy and sweet way - great on psychological maturation as well.

Brimmer & May School 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
Brimmer is wonderful, happy place. To be frank - the adolescent world is like the wild west these days - kids compete in the conventional spaces of intellect, arts, and athletics; but also in the social media space. It seems there are few places left to explore, be true to yourself, and take chances. Brimmer remains such a place - in each small class you'll see jockey kids that go on to play at top tier colleges, artsy kids racking up Globe show awards, plays and musicals that involve every type of kid. Doing one's best, in whatever it may be, is alway celebrated. Writing is a major part of the curriculum; and a drop in writing center supports this effort. Dig deep, think critically and participate are concepts learned early. Brimmer and May is a place to become your authentic self.

Brimmer & May School 5

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
Our child has been a student at Brimmer and May since kindergarten and the school continues to exceed our expectations. The focus on independent learning enables our child to excel academically. There is a strong sense of community among faculty, administration and families. The continuity of education from PreK to Grade 12 creates unique insights and opportunities both on an academic and personal level for students.


Brimmer & May School 5

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
Do you want your child to go to a school they love? Then Brimmer and May is the school for you.

Brimmer & May School 2

Posted July 15, 2013
- a parent
If you are considering sending your child to Brimmer and May you might want to send them so place else. My child has been here for six years and yes has made many great friends,but sadly thats all. The academics are HORRID and would be better off sending them to Public School. When people say Brimmer and May they think "wow" But trust me it's no longer that way. I mean Look at their college acceptance rate. ITS A JOKE!!

Brimmer & May School 5

Posted May 03, 2013
- a parent
As a parent who has had experience of great schools in the UK, both private and public, as well as a top international school in Asia, Brimmer and May not only compared well but outshone them in many aspects. My children have attended Brimmer for three years and felt welcomed from day one. Our first good gut feelings about the school turned out to be well foundered. As we have got to know the school and understand the broad ranging opportunities offered here in more depth, we have only become more pleased with our decision to choose Brimmer. Outstanding strong points in my opinion are the high level of critical thinking and global awareness fostered in children. Tools which will serve students well. Exceptional faculty who bring their subjects alive and are always prepared to go the extra mile. A philosophy of life long learning is encouraged and modeled by the faculty. Accessible and approachable faculty. Head who has a clear understanding of the schools history and a great vision for it's future. Small class sizes allow for teachers to develop a child's strengths as well as identify and address any problem areas. Do yourself a favor, visit Brimmer and May & judge for yourself.


Brimmer & May School 5

Posted October 21, 2012
- a parent
I am a product of public schools all the way through graduate school. I have always been a huge supporter of public schools. But I have to say I am so happy to have my children switched to Brimmer and May. Small and interesting classes, caring teachers that promote independence and collaboration, school heads who aim to inspire and nurture, parents who care about the whole child, theirs as well as others... It's a great diverse community with strong focus on active learning. My children are thriving and I could not be happier.

Brimmer & May School 1

Posted January 09, 2012
- a community member
I was a student there for half a year, I was bullied into the ground and I did not have to do any work for the good grades I received, the arts program is a joke and a lie so that parents are sucked in to spending way too much. I did not learn anything, everything that was taught was extremely basic for the grade i was in, and if you or your child does not fit in to the stereotypical popular crowd, you or your child will become an instant outcast. All you do is basically pay for your kid to get good grades, and you would be much better off sending a kid to brookline high school. the teachers there actually care if you do work or not. and that's a PUBLIC school.

Nearby schools

Brimmer & May School
69 Middlesex Road, Newton, MA  02467
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (617) 278-2323
Last modified Brimmer & May School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top