Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5 & Ungraded
Public
Newtonville, MA

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cabot Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Great energy!! Everyone knows the school itself is in horrible shape. That's not the staff's fault; that would be the poor city planning. However, in spite of the tough teaching conditions, the principle has created such a vibrant supportive (for parents, staff, and kids) environment that the building fades away!! This rating is about education though, not about capital planning. We are new to Cabot this year and I honestly am floored by how friendly and open everyone has been. In 8 years of having my kids at schools I've never had as full a communication circle as we have here w teachers, staff and the PTO. We really feel lucky to have landed in this school district!! Go Cabot!!

Cabot Elementary School 1

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
We had three children go through Cabot. The first two (twins) did well and mostly thrived. The third is in special education and it was extremely challenging. The principal in 2009 - 2010 was terrible. The parents and many (not all) teachers are great, but if your child is in Special Education, stay away from this school, if you can.


Cabot Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
It has a history of dedicated principals and teachers and a tradition of material and moral support by the parents.

Cabot Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2009
- a parent
Under new leadership for the 2008-9 yr, Principal Swaim has provided professional leadership that was previously lacking, and brought our once purposely divided (by the old principal) community of teachers and parents back together. The teachers are happier, the kids performing at a higher level, and the parents are thrilled. Cabot is now reaching its wonderful potential, after years of suffocation and division.

Cabot Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2008
- a parent
Both of my children have attended Cabot and we have been very happy with the quality of teaching, sense of community, and the values of service and learning imparted by the school. Dr. Quarcoo has been a fantastic leader; unfortunately she has retired as of this year but hopefully the new principal will be equally as good. He certainly has a wonderful group of teachers, parents, and staff to work with!


Cabot Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 12, 2008
- a parent
The principal, Dr. Q., is overly controlling and dislikes parents who have different opinions, even when they're expressed respectfully. She also targets children who belong to particular minority groups for negative treatment. While the school includes many wonderful teachers and families, under Dr. Q's rule, the promise of this school community is diminished and many children struggle and suffer as a result.

Cabot Elementary School 4

Posted January 23, 2005
- a parent
There is a sense of community within Cabot that is unmatched elsewhere. The teaching has been superior and parent involvement (the PTO) is unlike any I've seen.

Cabot Elementary School 5

Posted July 14, 2004
- a parent
Marilyn Quarcoo, Principal, is a true leader and sets a positive tone of involvement and spirit. Our first grader teacher recognized the strengths of our son and provided supplemental curriculum activities throughout the year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cabot Elementary School
229 Cabot St, Newtonville, MA  02460
(617) 559-9400
Last modified Cabot Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cabot Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top