Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public district
North Andover, MA
Students enrolled: 607
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Annie L Sargent School 5

Posted November 09, 2013
- a parent
Have 2 kids that went through this school and had mainly a great experience. But it is very dependent on the teachers they get. Each of my children had one bad teacher ( different ones ) who would not do 1 thing beyond what the teacher contract requires. But the majority of their teachers went the extra mile and seemed to care about the students. One in particular was probably the most involved and caring teacher I ever met. There has been some principal turnover; 2 were bad; 1 was excellent, the current seems to be good and will hopefully stick around. The bulk of the parents and kids are also very nice; but, then, like anywhere - it's up to you to pay attention to who you and your kids choose to associate with.

Annie L Sargent School 1

Posted August 20, 2013
- a community member
WORST SCHOOL IN TOWN! Teachers are way to nice, give the kids "prizes from the prize box" and gives stickers on the test when a student gets a 40! They teach nothing but to do good on this MCAS. Honestly, the teachers DONT EVEN TEACH after MCAS. They teach the kids how to be respectful but they are rude with rudder parents. The last review is correct with the (4 principles in 5 years.) Kids get bullied. Kids get sent down to guidance for issues that NEVER get solved. North Andover, do something about this school. Don't believe your realtor, it's the worst school in town
1 person found this helpful


Annie L Sargent School 2

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
This school has some incredible teachers. However, due to over bearing parents and lack of good hiring (4 Principals in 5 years) this school has gone consistently down hill. Prior student review is correct. "RAISE" at this school is a farce. Rude kids and ruder parents. It is a sanctuary for bullies. It isn't the teaching that hurts this school...It is the parents who would do themselves a favor by forgetting their glory years and focusing in on making better children for the future...not mean kids who are extensions of mean parents.
1 person found this helpful

Annie L Sargent School 5

Posted November 28, 2010
- a parent
Dedicated teachers, good leadership and a very involved parent community. The curriculum is good and teachers do a good job addressing it.

Annie L Sargent School
no rating

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
Strong leadership excellent teachers low parental monetary support


Annie L Sargent School
no rating

Posted December 31, 2007
- a parent
Kindergarden classes are not crowded as grades 1 - 6. Teachers are very good. My child has had a very positive beginning to schooling at Sargent. Diversity appears to be celebrated. I remain ambivalent about keeping my child in this school past kindergarten if more money is not allocated to bring student ratios down. I feel like I was sold lies by real estate agent in re: schools here. Sargent and the high school are physically beautiful, but town has serious budget woes that have hurt student teacher ratios.

Annie L Sargent School
no rating

Posted August 06, 2007
- a parent
The teachers at this school are great, but the classes are still too large. School committee needs overhaul. Town needs more support from state. Until that happens, schools will suffer here in NA.
1 person found this helpful

Annie L Sargent School 2

Posted August 24, 2006
- a parent
Don't be fooled by the real estate agents. This is the most overcrowed school in town - a town which is suffering severe fiscal issues. Class sizes are now up to 35:1. The town does not support the school systems and there is a strong elders vs familes conflict in NA.
1 person found this helpful


Annie L Sargent School 5

Posted May 10, 2006
- a student
The PTO does a lot of things for our school such as Ice Cream Socials and Art Fairs. Our spaecials are going down though. We have lost computer lab and maybe 5th grade music. We now have music and art on a cart this 2006-2007 year.

Annie L Sargent School 3

Posted February 15, 2005
- a parent
Overcrowded, 25:1 pupil/teacher ratio

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Annie L Sargent School
300 Abbott Street, North Andover, MA  01845
(978) 725-3673
Last modified Annie L Sargent School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Annie L Sargent School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top