Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
32 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valley View School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
How do you adequately say thank you to someone who takes such a deep personal interest in your child. An interest that changes a life. More than adviser more than a mentor, life altering.

Valley View School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
The focus at VVS is on behavior and the academic side is secondary (as it should be). The academic curriculum is designed to reinforce the behavioral objectives.


Valley View School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
Each student at VVS is faced with their own mountain to climb and it is only through their dedication to self improvement, their perseverance are they able to become the person they want to be.

Valley View School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
Respect is a fundamental value at VVS. Respect for faculty, parents, and peers is ingrained in the teaching model.

Valley View School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
Each student at VVS has their behavioral challenges. The school encourages each student to support their peers in their pursuit of their goals. Students are encouraged to support, not judge each other.


Valley View School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
VVS has a transparent review process where all staff review all students on a weekly basis. The reviews are used to establish a weekly behavioral honor roll. This is a great tool for positive reinforcement.

Valley View School 5

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
My 13 year old son attended VVS after a several week wilderness program. His behavior had reached a level where remaining in our home was no longer an option. In our view and in our son's view Valley View changed his life. The staff were incredibly invested in our son's development and worked hard on helping him understand himself and assisting him in developing the tools he needed to navigate the world successfully. Our entire family is so grateful for VVS. I could never have dreamed that our son could grow so much over a year's time.

Valley View School 5

Posted November 21, 2015
- a parent
I find it impossible to believe that some of the negative comments below come from parents of students at Valley View. Our son has been at Valley View for a year. We tried everything to deal with his oppositional and defiant behavior, including wilderness therapy, before choosing to send him. If you are considering sending your son to a therapeutic boarding school, Valley View is a place where he will not fall behind academically. Our daughter attends an elite private school in Washington DC and our standards for teachers are very high. We had parent-teacher conferences with all of our son's teachers at Valley View and we were impressed. They care deeply about the success of each student and challenge each according to his academic level. Beyond academics the staff has developed a structured system that helps the boys to recognize the consequences of their self-destructive behaviors. I have been to the school multiple times and have spoken with staff every week. I have witnessed their composure and compassion. Their mission is to truly change the direction of a young man's life and they take that role very seriously. Valley View has been helping boys for over 40 years and they really "get" these kinds of kids. We have seen great progress and we believe he will leave Valley View with the skills he needs to have a happy and successful life.


Valley View School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 21, 2015
- a parent
I would thank Dr. Spiva for having the forsite and belief in the potential of boys that the public system turned their backs on . Our public school blamed their own inabilities on our son. They told us he had huge deficits. Dr. Spiva knew that was not true and he has my utmost gratitude.

Valley View School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 21, 2015
- a parent
The personal attention and dedication of the faculty is real. Each teacher shows me that they know and care about my child.

Nearby schools

Valley View School
Po Box 338, North Brookfield, MA  01535
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (508) 867-7152
Last modified Valley View School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top