Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-4 & Ungraded
Public
North Chelmsford, MA

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harrington Elementary School 3

Posted December 02, 2014
- a community member
The school has a few good things to it. Most of the teachers were good, but some of the stuff you learn isn't going to help you in middle school (For most kids who go to this school Clarke). For example the math teachers at Clarke HATE the Big 7 method for solving multiplactaion which is the main method teachers teach you at this school. Also the food is horrible. Just take the pizza. Its disgusting. And the parking lot rules are god awful. If letting all the cars go exit after the kid is dropped off before letting the walkers who are late for school sounds good then I don't know what to say. But there are a few good things about it. For one most of the teachers are good. But the best thing about it is the extended day program. It was the best part about my years there. All the teachers are amazing, the games are amazing, and the show is breathtaking. I loved it so much. If it weren't for it I would give it a below average. But thanks to it it gets an average. By Former Student

Harrington Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school and great teachers. My kids really love this school and atmosphere. Academic standards are really good.


Harrington Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
Any comments negativity directed toward the principal must be about a former principal . Mr LaCava makes it his top priority to keep the children safe at all times. I have found that all the teachers to be very pleasant and really seem to enjoy their jobs. For what it's worth I am sure the children have hardly noticed such things as paint, bricks, etc., or whether or not they are sitting in a state of the art facility. At the end of the day, it is all about the kids and I feel that mine love everything about the Harrington--the teachers, staff, atmosphere and value their safe environment.

Harrington Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school. My daughter must be lucky to attend Harrington Elementary school. Academic standards are too high. Hats off to the Principal Mr. Lacava and the teachers . They challenge the kids based on their intrest.

Harrington Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
Enthusiastic teachers and principal. School needs improvements of the facilities, as well as money for enrichment programs.


Harrington Elementary School 4

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
Harrington is an excellent school. While I'm not necessarily thrilled with the industrial concrete wall image, any time spent with the teachers and administration quickly outweighs asthetics! Our son has specific learning needs and the teachers at every level, along with all of the specialists, have provided top notch services... often offered without even having to request. When we talk about Harrington and the details of services with parents from other towns, and even service professionals at other organizations, they are blown away with how "leading edge" the curriculum and services are! Our family is incredibly proud to be part of the Harrington community! I wonder if the other 2013 reviewer was considering another school, considering the difference in rating and the reference to Lexington.

Harrington Elementary School 1

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
Some good teachers but a totally ineffectual principal. School does not come close to living up to the reputation Lexington Public Schools enjoy. The administration is old school bureaucratic and shows very little respect for parents or students. Deeply disappointing experience.

Harrington Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted December 18, 2009
- a parent
Our children attended the Harrington until redistricted. We have had such an improved experience at the Byam. I am so grateful for the switch now. The teachers are more pleasant and the principal at the Byam is much less defensive and much more open to parent feedback. Bullying is not tolerated at the Byam! I felt it was more visible at the Harrington and less was done to remedy it.


Harrington Elementary School 1

Posted June 03, 2008
- a parent
My kids have been redistricted to Harrington for the 2008-09 school year. I went for the open house and found the staff seemingly very, very nice, but the condition of the school very, very run down. I won't be sending my kids to sit in a dark, dirty school for 6 hours a day. How can a town have such a huge difference in the condition of their schools? Center vs Harrington, absolutely night and day. Not sure if it's in the school budget to buy cleaning supplies and paint, but that could go a long way. Oh, and fixing the giant hole in the fence on the playground might help keep the kids from ending up in the high school soccer field. Again, staff seems wonderful, but whoever makes budget decisions needs to take a long hard look at this school.

Harrington Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2008
- a parent
This school is great. Highly recommended. Friendly, helpful teachers. The principal, Mrs. Beaudoin is doing a wonderful job.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harrington Elementary School
120 Richardson Rd, North Chelmsford, MA  01863
(978) 251-5166
Last modified Harrington Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harrington Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top