Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-5
Public district
Northampton, MA
Students enrolled: 296
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Jackson St. School is an exciting mix of cultures, socio-economic classes, languages and races. Educators at Jackson Street take pride in identifying each child's strengths as well as his/her challenges and work very hard to achieve success, holding high standards and expectations for all. They know that such diversity makes for a wonderful, enriching experience for all who attend and all who work here. They also recognize that with such diversity comes additional challenge in meeting all needs. They are always committed and ready to receive feedback and input from families and the community. They know that our students' families are their "first teachers" and must be a significant part of the team. They plan for the many ways that parents, guardians and caregivers can be involved in our students' education.
July 09, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Jackson St. School is an exciting mix of cultures, socio-economic classes, languages and races. Educators at Jackson Street take pride in identifying each child's strengths as well as his/her challenges and work very hard to achieve success, holding high standards and expectations for all. They know that such diversity makes for a wonderful, enriching experience for all who attend and all who work here. They also recognize that with such diversity comes additional challenge in meeting all needs. They are always committed and ready to receive feedback and input from families and the community. They know that our students' families are their "first teachers" and must be a significant part of the team. They plan for the many ways that parents, guardians and caregivers can be involved in our students' education.
Posted July 09, 2015

Jackson Street 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
Very impressed by the quality and caring of the teachers and administrators. I truly feel like my children are cared for and about, and taught in a very personal way that applies to their levels of understanding
1 person found this helpful


Jackson Street 5

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
I am very impressed by the quality of teachers, and the involvement and the depth of our principal Gwen Agna. I am continually amazed by Ms. Agna's educational and real world background and her deep understanding of the needs and demands of the kids she educates. This school would never be the same without her. I never knew what a difference a principal could make.
1 person found this helpful

Jackson Street
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
There is a wonderful community spirit at this school!
1 person found this helpful

Jackson Street 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
There is a strong sense of community. Inclusion is not just a buzz word: learners are valued, regardless of their background. There is a strong home/school connection, great leadership, enthusiastic teachers, and every year new innovations manifest at our wonderful school!
1 person found this helpful


Jackson Street 5

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
It is the best public school in the area. There is a lot of school spirit, and the teachers really care. There is also a tremendous amount of diversity.
1 person found this helpful

Jackson Street 5

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
Jackson Street School has a wonderful sense of community. The Principle, teachers, and staff are amazing and very dedicated to the students and families.
1 person found this helpful

Jackson Street 5

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
Excellent Principal which translates to great teachers who care about each and every child.
1 person found this helpful


Jackson Street 5

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
Because it is multicultural and creative!
1 person found this helpful

Jackson Street
no rating

Posted October 10, 2010
- a community member
I am so honored and privileged to be the principal of Jackson St. It is a school with extraordinary staff, families and students.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jackson Street
120 Jackson Street, Northampton, MA  01060
(413) 587-1510
Last modified Jackson Street is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jackson Street Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. Top