Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Converse Middle School

Public | 5-7 & ungraded | 404 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2013

Looking for school choice out of cms. Top administration allows crazy parents to rule the roost because they have not guts to do the right thing. Our kids say the school principal can not be trusted. Getting out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

This school is going down the drain! No money being spent on kids or teachers but guess who gets their huge raise increases? Top top top and they do the least amount of work! Kids are crowed in small classes and teachers are burnt out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

This year my child is attending the fifth grade and has been having some problems at school with other students being inappropriate and mean. I know it is hard for the teachers to keep parents posted on everything that goes on in the classes but there is a point where we as parents need information and phone calls. The grade 5 guidance counselor has contacted us on several occasions to keep us informed to the best of her ability. This is greatly appreciated. There is one counselor who has two grades of students to keep tabs on and she needs more help. The Vice Principal also seems overwhelmed with student behaviors and discipline. I think more help needs to step up to the plate here and help out. The team concept is only going to work if there is a cohesive team with a cooperative positive attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

Before moving out to Palmer my son was a great student, he loved school. Now I have to force him out the door. We moved while he was in 5th grade and he had a very hard time adjusting to the middle school concept. Now in 6th grade I still see him having some problems as he does not look forward to the school days. I am not happy that the teachers do not keep you informed as to how the child is doing especially if their grades are suffering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2012

I have not had positive experiences with administration here. The new Assistant Principal is very professional. The Principal not so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

I find the school to be lacking in extra help for the children in need. They offer extra help after school but do not focus on helping the children with homework and classwork that was not completed. They do not offer summer school which is a huge disappointment. The MCAS scores for this school are disappointing which also points to the poor teaching skills. It appears that someone needs to step in and get this school on track for a better future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

Im a 3rd year student at CMS n I love it. sure it isnt wayyy high tech. but you can learn a lot from the teachers who are super-duper nice! 'give my school a 9 star out of ten! ( yuo're the best teacher ever, Mrs. Catherine Reed!')
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2009

great results with limited resources...wonderful faculty.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 24, 2008

I am a student at CMS. It is okay but i need to be more challenged. The school could use more money to improve supplies and the actual building. Its my 2nd year here and the teachers i have met are very friendly. I'm glad to go to this school. Even if its not the best. Even though our school test scores are way below average there are some students who keep the scores up. Not all the students here don't do well on their tests. Don't judge the school by the scores. If your child is doing well in school they won't all of a sudden do bad when they move here. Just think about it. Would you not go to a school because some kids aren't as bright as others? I know I wouldn't have that attitude. Let your kids come here. It's just a school. Like any other.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2007

My child is in his second year at CMS. He's learning at a higher level than I remember from my middle school days. He loves his teachers. I like the team set up and the fact that all the teachers work together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

I have to say that CMS is a wonderful school.My oldest daughter is attending the 5th grade this year and absolutely loves it.The after school program is awesome.We came from Springfield and my daughter was struggling there and here she is getting the help she needs to help her excell.I think the teachers/staff she has are wonderful.Keep up the good work! March 29,2007
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2006

The academic standards at this school are extremely low. Students are given high grades for performance that would be C-level at best in most other schools. The difficulty of the course work is way below what it should be for middle school. Students are not challenged and are thus left unprepared for higher education. The arts are not at all well-supported. I am pulling my child out of the Palmer schools and I would advise any parents who care about the quality of their child's education to do the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2006

Converse Middle school is an amazing school. All of the teachers and staff have a great outlook on every students education. One of my children is graduating from cms this year and my second child has attended cms for two years now. Unfortunately, we've purchased a house outside of the school district and my third child will not be able to attend this great school. The after school program, cougars den is great! Cms's values are above the very best! Cms praises all of its students with a great reward system. The teachers care, staying after and even giving parents their home phone numbers! You will not find a school district like this one! My daughter just returned from space camp in al. a school activity, field trips are great, every child is bused to school. I can't say more..palmer schools are amazingly terrific, a great educcation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

I am the parent of a child who graduated from Converse Middle School. The level and quality of leadership in this school is outstanding. I am also a public school teacher, and have been for over 20 years. My child received an education in a setting in which it was obvious that the academic staff were well trained, educated, supervised, and supported. It was in this setting that he finally become a confident, comptetent learner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

I love this school! I am a former student that recently moved to Florida. I attended 5th and 6th grade at this school. The teachers are very friendly and helpful. To me this is the best school ever. It is challenging but just at the right level. My favorite teacher there is Mrs.Linda Perry. She teaches 6th grade math.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

Converse Middle School has been a good expierence for my children and for involving me in their progress or what not. Very involved in the children in the school. Mrs. Rathbone (now principal) is a wonderful lady and a good asset for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Female65%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Title I32%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students32%
Female33%
Male30%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Title I0%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students53%
Female59%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Title I23%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Female76%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Title I53%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students36%
Female46%
Male24%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Title I0%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Female77%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Title I79%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students52%
Female43%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Title I21%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 68%
Hispanic 2% 15%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 6%
Black 1% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (413) 283-2655

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24 Converse St
Palmer, MA 01069
Phone: (413) 283-8109

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Old Mill Pond
Palmer, MA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT