Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J Henry Higgins Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1397 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2012

Higgins is good for 8th graders since the 6th and 7th graders look like bugs


Posted February 22, 2010

I went to higgins last year. It was the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2008

Higgins roxx! I am in 6th grade and I started going 2 higgins this year [obviously]. The teachers are great, theres not a lot of hw, and the exploratories are fun. Although I hate gym, the gym teachers are great. The size of the school was intimidating at 1st but I got used 2 it. I luvv the higgins...We rock!! -karina was here! (ps, ms. Irons [6th grade marlin teacher] is the best english teacher ever!)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2005

I am a former Higgins student(I just graduated 8 grade this year) and I love the school. The size and student population are intimidating at first but the school is great. The teachers are great and there are all sorts of clubs. When I first arrived at Higgins I was very ovewhelmed but the number of students is only a chance to meet different kinds of people and make a lot of friends. A lot of the teachers do give a lot of homework but there are a lot that give hardly any. I like that there is a difference between the teachers and the workload though. Higgins has classes that are for kids who have difficulty learning with the large number of other kids. It also provides special needs classes. The city should provide more for the school though.I also attended private school and I would rather go to Higgins.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2005

I am not a big fan of this school. While I think the teachers and administration are doing the best that they can, they are not being supported by the city. There should be more than one middle school for this city. This is a crucial time in these children's lives. This is when they go through the most changes...physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually. This school is just too big and often these children get lost in the system. I have seen the most brilliant of children do poorly simply because they were not given adequate support and time. My daughter has experienced back problems simply due to the amount of books she has had to carry..the homework load is unrealistic and I have seen that some of it is just 'busy work', not reinforcement of what she has learned in class. I give this school a thumbs down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2004

My son is a 7th grader at Higgins and I have not been impressed so far. Last year he had issues with another student constantly badgering him and when I ?'d the teachers I was told they could not discuss another child with me! I believe this is what lead to my son's grades dropping from A's to B's and C's. The teacher seem preoccupied with their own lives than the reason they are at the school, to teach our children. The lunches are less than desirable. Aside from the school hot lunch the options are mostly fried choices, chicken fingers, moz sticks, buffalo fingers... Wish I could afford a private school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

Higgins middle school is an alright school.. in my opinion it needs better special ed teachers,and better food. The housematers are I think the best thing the school has to offer. Teachers although dont understand the presaures of the mcas and homework and how that effects the students. The new superintendent isn't all that great either taking away feild trips and such. The kids need some physical release during the day, walking to lunch and eating for 15 mins is definitly not enough. No fresh air for 6 hours? I mean come on it won't kill to give the childen 5 minutes a day to breath. The kids also need better food and more time to eat it. So over all the Higgins middle school isn't all that great.. I was a student there this past year I am goin on to 9th grade now. ((Mrs.Smith rocks though)) -Jess Ravagno
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

The Higgins Middle School is administered by dedicated professionals. Although it is a very large school, the Principal and her headmasters have set up and maintained a structure that allows for the safety, personal growth and recognition and individual learning normally found in much smaller schools. I highly recommend this school and give raves to my sixth grader's teachers, guidance department and Principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2004

I really love Higgins. I am in the 8th grade (my last year) My teachers are great and I made a lot of friends. I am going to miss Higgins when I have to leave.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Female71%
Male58%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracial61%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities16%
English language learners10%

Math

All Students52%
Female52%
Male51%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracial44%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities11%
English language learners10%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Female71%
Male58%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracial83%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities23%
English language learners0%

Math

All Students39%
Female38%
Male38%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracial34%
White42%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities1%
English language learners9%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Female83%
Male75%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students50%
Female50%
Male50%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities4%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students38%
Female36%
Male42%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 68%
Hispanic 11% 15%
Black 3% 8%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 King St Ext
Peabody, MA 01960
Phone: (978) 536-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT