Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5 & Ungraded
Public
Peabody, MA
Students enrolled: 513

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Thomas Carroll 5

Posted June 11, 2012
- a parent
I feel that I really need to take a moment to leave a comment stating how GREAT-FULL we are for THOMAS CAROL SCHOOL...AND all the GREAT STAFF. The teachers are caring And warm....they are all dedicated , and a perfect example of what a good school should be . I do want to take a special moment to thank one SPECIAL TEACHER...and that is MS. MURRAY, she is a 2nd grade teacher . My son had her this past year, and he struggled with reading which led to other challenges through out his school year..do to MS. MURRAY , PAYING ATTENTION to all her childrens different needs, identifying their trouble triggers, working in small groups on those triggers or one on one,or calling in a team and me to set up a plan that will focus on their issue's and make sure the plan is followed through with. SHE expects a lot from her students ,which is great cause it also means she has faith in them and gives them a feeling of self esteem. MS MURRAY...you are a perfect example of what a teacher is and should be...and my family sincerely believes trev is moving to 3rd grade do to your ability to not let any of her students get lost in the crowd! we sincerely thank you ...amber,dave,and trevor pratt....

Thomas Carroll 4

Posted February 17, 2012
- a parent
Carroll school is a great place. The teachers are all very friendly and patient. The school is willing to work with the families when they need it. I also feel they have a great No Bullying policy. They provide extra help for reading and math if needed, and if you qualify, they offer free tutoring. One year they recieved a grant and were able to have a few free family fitness nights like swimming at the YMCA, and ice skating. The carroll school has a great community, and they are all close and friendly.


Thomas Carroll 3

Posted August 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Thomas Carroll 1

Posted August 03, 2009
- a community member
Disappointed with the overall follow through and schools ability to deal with behavioral issues. Every child in elementary school, and especially boys need positive reinforcement no matter how 'bad' or 'distracted they may seem. I also feel that they are very quick to recommend assessment for ADD or ADHD drugs as opposed to helping parents and students learn self control. The school is very nice and new, however the lunch menu needs a healthier revision. I also feel that physical education should be at least an hour everyday, kids have energy and it is very hard for them to concentrate with it all pent up. Hoping for a change.

Thomas Carroll 1

Posted February 26, 2008
- a parent
Sure a great brand new school, but that doesn't mean what happens inside is as great as the facility. There are way too many behavioral issues that the teachers seem to struggle to incorporate the daily curriculum thus our children are lacking a high quality education. I am not surprised by the rating here, but rather disgusted. The principal is very nice, but needs to be more authorative and not worry about being every child's friend and pal. Wishing we could afford private school.


Thomas Carroll 4

Posted April 06, 2007
- a parent
The teachers are very dedicated and innovative in their teaching methods. The building is clean and filled with natural light. There are many activities availbale to the children including Family Reading Nights, Family Fitness Nights and ice cream socials. There is going to be a new playground built on the premises in August 2007. The PTO board is active and dedicated. It would be nice if more parents were involved though.

Thomas Carroll 4

Posted September 24, 2004
- a parent
Teachers are all outstanding, caring & motivated. Communication is excellent. School is beautiful. I've never seen a group of hard working & dedicated teachers.. they do so much for our children. Thank you.PTO is great too.

Thomas Carroll 2

Posted April 22, 2004
- a parent
The school facilities are superb as they are all brand new. The teachers are also top-rate. Parent communication, however, is an area in which they are sorely lacking.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Thomas Carroll
60 Northend St, Peabody, MA  01960
(978) 536-4200
Last modified Thomas Carroll is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Thomas Carroll Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top