Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
275 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Discover Covenant! Admissions Open House Saturday, October 22nd 2016, 9am – 12 noon Presentations at 9:30am & 11:00am You are invited to come experience how joyful school can be! Hear from our Head of School, as well as student and parent testimonials. Enjoy a campus tour and meet administrators, faculty and staff. You will also have the opportunity to learn about all of our programs (Pre-K - Gr. 12), learn about Classical Education, Covenant Roundtable discussions, Academic Travel Week, Fine Arts and Athletic opportunities, Robotics, and more! Come discover what it means to be a part of this authentic school community. Upper School Preview Morning (Gr 7-12) Saturday, November 19, 2016, 9:30 – 11:00am Prospective parents and students are invited to join us for an in-depth presentation of our Upper School program. Come, meet with our principal and several faculty members. A special Q&A session will be offered by a panel of experts (CCA teachers, parents, students and alumni). We'll introduce you to our Classical approach and highlight some unique aspects of our program including the Senior Thesis, Logic and Rhetoric Classes, Academic Travel Week, AP offerings, our approach to College Counseling using Naviance, and more. After the presentations you can enjoy a student-led campus tour. Discover the power and value of a CCA Upper School education! FIRST WEDNESDAY’S OPEN HOUSES: Come See Us in Action! First Wed. of Every Month, Nov.-May, 9:00-11:00am.
October 14, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
This school has an effective approach to homework:
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Teachers at this school are effective:
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
This school develops strong character in its students, like integrity, compassion and respect:
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Leadership at this school is effective:
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
This school effectively supports students with learning differences:
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
This school effectively deals with bullying:
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Develops character:
SCHOOL LEADER
As a Classical school, CCA provides students with rigorous instruction in all the academic disciplines while also holding before them essential character virtues such as goodness, honor, and justice. This stands in increasingly stark contrast to modern educational trends, which have moved away from challenging students to master this rich content and have gone intentionally silent on issues of virtue, truth, and character. In short, classical schooling is education with a soul that graduates students who are prepared to read widely, think deeply, act nobly, write clearly and speak well.
Posted October 14, 2016

Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
Who a teacher is as a person — a teacher’s generosity, integrity, commitment, restraint, compassion — is every bit as important as the subject he or she may teach. Many adults, when they look back on their high school days, struggle to remember specific lessons or specific content they were taught, but they do remember who was teaching them. They remember whether that person loved and respected them, whether she was passionate about her subject, or cared to get to know them as persons. Teachers are powerful mentors in the lives of students. At CCA we empower teachers to be mentors and speak into the lives of their students. We hope they will share the following: - the wisdom they have acquired from their personal walks with Jesus Christ - their experiences as thinking citizens - their insights as those who both read and help to form culture inside and outside of Covenant Christian Academy. In all of these ways the healthy relationships between teachers and students are made stronger and more vital.
Posted October 14, 2016


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Discover Covenant! Admissions Open House Saturday, October 22nd 2016, 9am – 12 noon Presentations at 9:30am & 11:00am You are invited to come experience how joyful school can be! Hear from our Head of School, as well as student and parent testimonials. Enjoy a campus tour and meet administrators, faculty and staff. You will also have the opportunity to learn about all of our programs (Pre-K - Gr. 12), learn about Classical Education, Covenant Roundtable discussions, Academic Travel Week, Fine Arts and Athletic opportunities, Robotics, and more! Come discover what it means to be a part of this authentic school community. Upper School Preview Morning (Gr 7-12) Saturday, November 19, 2016, 9:30 – 11:00am Prospective parents and students are invited to join us for an in-depth presentation of our Upper School program. Come, meet with our principal and several faculty members. A special Q&A session will be offered by a panel of experts (CCA teachers, parents, students and alumni). We'll introduce you to our Classical approach and highlight some unique aspects of our program including the Senior Thesis, Logic and Rhetoric Classes, Academic Travel Week, AP offerings, our approach to College Counseling using Naviance, and more. After the presentations you can enjoy a student-led campus tour. Discover the power and value of a CCA Upper School education! FIRST WEDNESDAY’S OPEN HOUSES: Come See Us in Action! First Wed. of Every Month, Nov.-May, 9:00-11:00am.
Posted October 14, 2016



- a
Our family relocated to the Boston North Shore last year. We were attracted to CCA for the Christian and Classical Education model and ultimately choose the school because of the obvious commitment the leadership had to real Christian values and high academic standards. From the very beginning, our children were welcomed with open arms by everyone at CCA. As a whole the student body is impressive in their openness and generosity to the new kids . I m certain their generosity is a product of the many wonderful families that are a part of the school, but also the high expectations our faculty, staff and leadership have of our students. CCA is truly committed to Christian and Classical Education, and it s everything we hoped for and more. Our children have been a part of 4 school system (3 private/1 public). All four were excellent schools with high standards. I can say without hesitation that this has been the best academic year that either one of our children have had. So even after we purchased a home in a public school district that is ranked at the very top of MA public schools, it was an easy decision to commit to CCA for the long term.



- a
The teachers care about your children through every grade. They genuinely want your child to succeed and will do all they can to help. As your child enters the Upper School (7-12) they encourage the students to seek help, but if you choose not too they won't let you slide through! You are a person to them and they work hard to know you. They believe in your child and work hard to help with their self esteem and teach them how to advocate for themselves. Seeing my children believe in themselves and push themselves to try new things and attempt positive risks are important to me as they head off for college. My children are well prepared for college and will excell beyond their dreams as they know how to think through things, how to ask questions, how to communicate through their strong writing skills and how to speak in groups and larger group settings.




- a
I am a member of the faculty at both CCA and an area college, where I teach incoming freshmen. Having taught more than one hundred and fifty college freshmen over the last four years, including many graduates of CCA, I can say without hesitation that CCA consistently graduates some of the most prepared, professional, and competitive students in the area, ready to thrive in whatever field they choose. The unique combination of robust curriculum, faithful community, and classical pedagogy CCA provides fosters personal and intellectual growth in a way that makes its students uniquely prepared to excel. I can't recommend the program enough.



- a
As a parent, who is also an educator, I can not say enough great things about CCA. The curriculum provides the perfect progression for students, allowing them to learn to read at an early age, and learn to LOVE learning. They follow a classical curriculum, which provides a basis in Grammar School and progressively gets more difficult, allowing them to learn the "why" in Middle School and to defend their thoughts and reasoning at High School. CCA provides a safe environment for kids where they can learn from loving teachers who believe in Christ and show that in everything they do.



- a
Being people of modest means, CCA is a financial commitment that my wife and I decided to make based on the integrity of the staff and administrators, the Christian community, the atmosphere of love and learning, standards by which everyone in the school (faculty or student) holds of themselves, and outstanding curriculum. We've had a child at CCA for three years now, and continue to make that financial commitment, sacrificing in other areas of our life because the value of this education and teaching is very much worth it. We now have two children at CCA. Our children feel safe and welcomed, challenged, encouraged, and loved at CCA. We have other options for our children's education, but the financial sacrifices we make is a testament to the value we receive at CCA. The faculty authentically cares about the well-being of each child under their care, care which extends well past classroom education. Our children are learning how to become young adults, with the highest moral standard based on God's love. Although we could send them to three or four other schools, we are blessed to be a part of the CCA community.




- a
We've been at CCA for 6 years and have loved it! We live in a great public school district but have chosen to keep our two daughters at CCA because the education they are getting is excellent, challenging and faith based. When they were younger I appreciated the way the teachers nurtured them and really took time to know them as individuals. As they get older we are loving the new skills they seem to learn at every turn both academically and socially especially entering into the 'tween' years. CCA let's them push their boundaries in an appropriate and safe place . CCA is a part of our lives - - we are there all the time as there are always events to attend and opportunities to be involved as our schedules allow. I want my children to be Christians who can make an impact in this world for good and I know that CCA is preparing them for that in the best possible way.



- a
This school is wonderful. What they teach I did not learn till college. My daughter is in 9th grade and the first book they read was Homer's odessey. It was painful for her but, I have seen her grow in such a short period of time. There is no hiding in this school, they demand your best and nothing less. To be a critical thinker is the goal. This is money well spent. GO Cougars.

Nearby schools

Last modified Covenant Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top