Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Pittsfield, MA
Students enrolled: 916
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Taconic High School 1

Posted June 24, 2013
- a community member
It is a level 3 school. This means the state ranks it in the lowest 20%

Taconic High School 1

Posted June 22, 2012
- a student
This school is awful. There is dirt and dust throughout. Many kids fail classes each year. The honors teachers use excuses such as "You're in honors, you should be acing these classes." The school is stressful and a tense environment to work in. The staff only focuses on the "problem students," because they want to try to make it look like it's a good school, so they try to cover up their biggest problems.


Taconic High School 1

Posted May 29, 2012
- a community member
It has a horrible reputation. They are Level 3 schools according to the MASS DOE. The district has been sued numerous times.

Taconic High School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Because it's vocational-technical departments teach useful and practical skills.

Taconic High School 5

Posted October 06, 2007
- a student
It's a really good school. They teach you the same things you would leran at every school but they try harder to make sure you understand it. The teachers and staff hope to make sure that your years there are the best possible. Go Braves!!


Taconic High School 1

Posted September 27, 2007
- a parent
Foreign Language department and academies aren't very good.

Taconic High School 1

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
The district is in the lowest 13 percentile in the state. It is a very poor school.

Taconic High School 3

Posted January 25, 2005
- a parent
This school provides a good learning curriculum for students. It is safe, but some of the students are ignored if they are not popular amongst students. I think that they should make more activities that students could get together, like an after school online gamers club, like my son has requested. I hope that in the future the cafeteria will expand larger since my son gets his food in cafeteria B, wher e he says that there aren't any lunch tables in there, only in cafeteria A where there aren't enough tables to sit at, and if he sat at one, the kids would get annoyed if he wasn't popular. I think the level of parent involvement is great since there are parent/teacher conferences, but I also think that the teachers shouldn't give away the students grades, just on their over all behavior and parcipitation. I hope THS will soar high.


Taconic High School 3

Posted May 26, 2004
- a parent
I have had two children go through THS! My husband and I both graduated from THS. Our experience there has been a good one , for the most part. The Vocational Programs use to be first rate, but have gone down hill. Instead of 1 week of shop, 1 week academics, they are forced to do 1/2 day shop, 1/2 day academics. We feel that this does not work as well as the 1 to 1 week. They do not get to see projects through from begining to end. Wish they would go back to the old ways, when the vocational program counted as a good direction for those hands on children/young adults . Administration needs to address these problems. The shop teachers are excellent, wish they were aloud to teach in a manner befitting their talent.

Taconic High School 5

Posted February 21, 2004
- a parent
Well my doughter haves been in this school for 4 years, she is a senior now, wen she first started there she was in the 8th grade (read at taconic) and she had really bad grades, the teachers there helped her with her grades and her learning to speak english.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Taconic High School
96 Valentine Road, Pittsfield, MA  01201
(413) 448-9600
Last modified Taconic High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Taconic High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top