Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Joseph Central High School

Private | 9-12 | 168 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Pittsfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

As a graduate of St. Joseph Central High School I can honestly say that the fact that my parents chose to have me go there for my 4 years as a high school student was one of the best decisions they ever made for me and my future and I can't stress enough how good of a school it was and for the rest of my life I will always be proud of the fact that I was and still am a St. Joseph crusader.


Posted March 29, 2010

Outstanding comradery of both upper and lower classmates with very strong student participation not only in the arts but also in scholastic sports. Wish I had sent my children there, however, am a proud grandparent of a child who thouroughly enjoyed his 12 years of all school functions


Posted September 25, 2009

Saint Joe is an extension of your family...from your first day here you become a lifelong member...no one is ever too busy to share a smile, or help with a problem. A small college prep school with a HUGE heart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

St. Joseph's HS does a fabulous job of turning out students who are well prepared to face the challenges of citizenship. They think criticaly, write effective, and are active in their community. Each class has at least a 99% college placement rate. Individual attention and excellent teachers serve each student well. Viva St. Joe!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

Our child is currently a senior at Saint Joe. This school has exceeded all our expectations. There is a sense of family and community that DOES NOT exist in the average high school. Secondly, our child has been prepared for college life in the most well-rounded way possible. From the involved faculty to the quality of their academics and the variety of AP and Honors Classes offered, to the sense of community, and giving back both locally and globally that is instilled in Saint Joe students. Students come out of Saint Joe extremely well prepared to take on the top colleges in the country. We are so sad that this is our last year at such an amazing school and indeed an extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I think St Joe enjoys very strong leadership at this time. The teachers are very much bought into the philosphy of preparing these children for college and life. The school enjoys and extraordinary sense of family and loyalty and is very accessible to parents. The extra curricular activities are accessble to all students and the athletic programs are very worthwile. I have two children there and have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

St. Joe is a school that I am proud to have graduated from. The sense Of community and family is amazing. We students call ourselves the St. Joe Family and are proud of it! Unfortunatly some of the best teachers have left and the new administration is expected to be poor at best. Heres to the days of Downing!


Posted April 13, 2007

POOR language department. Lacks principle leadership. The teachers are hit or miss, meaning there are a few outstanding teachers but the rest are unaccredited and not fit to teach children in an academic environment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 3, 2007

This school is the best school ever! The teachers are great the kids are great! Love it there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2006

I love this school! Its incredible all of the teachers area amazing! I mean evryone is so nice and we all get along.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2006

St. Joe is a family oriented school. The teachers are accredited and are willing to go the extra mile for the students. I have sent all three of my children to St. Joe, they and most of their friends have just recently graduated college (without going to a two year prep-school first). Unlike the public schools all of St. Joe s classes are college prep and they have a 90%, if not higher, college acceptance rate. Some of the most prominent people in Pittsfield and surrounding towns are St. Joe alum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Guidance councilors are not involved enough with students. This school is more concerned with how the students look (IE dress code) than with academics. A lot of students will have to go to a Community college to get needed college prep courses. I'm not sure if all teachers are accredited.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 6%
Black 4% 8%
Hispanic 2% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Springfield
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22 Maplewood Avenue
Pittsfield, MA 01201
Phone: (413) 447-9121

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Mark School
Pittsfield, MA



Housatonic Academy
Pittsfield, MA


St. Agnes School
Dalton, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT