Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hill Crest Academy

Private

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Plainville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $260,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2013

My son entered Hill Crest after a disastrous year of public school kindergarten with no confidence, depressed and anxious. Within a month, he was loving school and making progress every day. In the five years since, he has virtually overcome his serious dyslexia, his short term memory problems and is a serious, committed student. His pediatrician was impressed at his last physical that they talked about cell structure! Hill Crest has a caring, nurturing, committed atmosphere where children learn about team work, their place in the community and personal responsibility as well as rigorous academics. Their philosophy is that they have a continuum from kindergarten until 8th grade to get the information inculcated and that the rate at which each child does that is individual. If they are advanced, they are challenged. If they have learning obstacles, that is addressed and they are appropriately challenged. Parents are included and informed almost daily. A major player in the academic area in this area, and a member of a Board of Directors of a charter school told me she would send her children to Hill Crest if she had it to do over again. Hill Crest is the BEST for your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

My child went to Hill Crest for 2-1/2 years. The first 2 years were absolutely wonderful and the school was a Godsend. The teachers were all very patient, loving and supportive of my child who was having anxiety difficulties. They nurtured her and she became happy and confident. The children and teachers were like a family. I I felt that my daughter was also getting a good academic education. As we began the next school year, the school had changed. The teachers were dealing with a very stressful situation and the atmosphere in the school was less happy. The children frequently heard the teachers complain about certain individuals. After a semester I transferred my daughter to the public middle school to finish 8th grade. I did this partly because of the change in atmosphere at Hill Crest and also because my daughter needed a transition between the relaxed environment of Hill Crest and the rigors of the public high school. She was slightly but not terribly behind. The middle school is helping her catch up. I cannot forget the blessing of those first two years my daughter had at Hill Crest. We miss Hill Crest. Hope they can return the school to the happy place it once was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2012

Four students have dropped out of Hillcrest Academy on Barrows St. in Norton, MA over the past month after paying the tuition for the year! The parents felt their children were academically behind. The head of the school leaves parents out of the loop and they did not realize their children were falling so far behind. They charge high prices for tuition/books and provide old and outdated materials to the students. They have mostly special education children but did not have a special ed teacher for 3 years prior to the Fall of 2012. It is an unprofessional and poorly managed environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I have two girls that are attending Hillcrest Academy. The teaching staff is wonderful, kind, caring, and supportive. They are very aware of alternate leaning styles of different children and adjust accordingly if issues arise. This may be a small school, but scores very high on quality education and supportive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

Both my daughters Attended HCA. It was the best academic experience they have had and they are now both in the college of their choice. With the stellar academic preparation and confidence gained atfrom HCA, one finished high school in three years and was accepted into MIT; one had the courage to go to Japan for a year during highschool and is fluent and used her Japanese daily in her summer job. She is now a film major and has an internship at a Hollywood studio. The teachers at HCA teach to the student. My daughters learned to take responsibility for their own learning. They formed relationships with other students that they treasure and have lasted years after graduating. I wish my own academic experience had been as good. Both my wife and I found our ideas and involvement was welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Hill Crest was the best educational experience my children had, and they are now in college. The combination of community-building and attention to the individual child's development is unparalleled. Compared to other private schools, the fees are amazingly reasonable, because the school is committed to educating students from every background. Unlike administrators of many other private schools, Hill Crest administrators stay very closely in touch with the community of students. Students become respectful, academically adventurous, and happy. They learn no gender, age, race or ability prejudice, period. Several times I needed to wrestle through questions about school policy, but I was always convinced by thoughtful, caring and imaginative teachers and administrators, and ultimately, my monitors were happy children who loved going to school every day. My best decision was to keep them there through middle school. Later, they won many honors and scholarships at private and public high schools and colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Hill Crest Academy was the best academic experience of my life. I was better prepared for high school than any of my friends who attended other schools. The education and love I recieved at Hill Crest were stellar. My friends and teachers there became my family. I am still close with them. I was able to be actively involved in my own education. Hill Crest has its own way of integrating what would be extracurricular activities in other schools. The field trips were some of the best I ever experienced. I chose Hill Crest because I longed for the thrill of being challenged by my schoolwork, and it raised my academic standards. After Hill Crest, I attended a top New England prep school, studied abroad for a year in Japan, attended Harvard University and the University of Southern California, and studied in Europe. Send all your children to Hill Crest today!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 11, 2005

My child excelled academically compared to public school. But for a small private school, I feel she could've learned so much more. Child had 3 years of spanish & nothing to show for it. There should've been more hands on learning given the classroom size. Need less days off. As a parent, I always felt out of the loop. I never knew that the art teacher left half way thru the year and we certainly were not given our art fee back. The school is all about money. On top of rising tuition costs, art & music fees, & books...If you didn't give donations, I didn't feel equal to the other families. We pay a lot of money for books & this year we were told we would get them a week after school let out. Here it is, the middle of July and no one has heard from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

94 School St
Plainville, MA 02762
Phone: (508) 699-4650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St Mary-Sacred Heart School
North Attleborough, MA


Community Elementary School
North Attleborough, MA


Roosevelt Avenue Elementary School
North Attleborough, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT