Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Plymouth Commun Intermediate

Public | 6-8 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

For cognitive delays or attention deficits, they do fine. For anything more complex, get your child out of there. I could write a full book on the horrors my son has been through at this school because they did not know how to handle the issues associated with his Aspergers. A good many staff members tried very hard to help him, but often administration got in the way. Had Hedge Elementary School not slowed down his diagnosis with their insistence that he could not possibly have autism and that he could perform but chose not to, then the caring professionals at PCIS may have had more success with our son. Finally, after five years of struggle, we are on our way to a specialized school setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Plymouth Intermediate Community School is a great school. My kids have had so many opportunities between all of the extracurricular activities as well as different speakers and education related field trips. It just offers the students a lot of variety and they really recognize the students efforts by student of the month, awards for such things as good citizen ship and academic achievements. They also had a MCAS Math boot camp that was over and above expectations. I was worried about bullying when my son first went into the middle school and I have to be honest and say that I haven't encountered one incident of this nor have heard of many in the school at all. You always have exceptions to the rule but when and if it happens, the staff is very pro-active and take a no tolerance approach. I really think it is an overall fantastic environment and glad I chose to send my kids to PCIS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

This is the worse school of USA....non communicative teachers and guiding counselor of mercury is the worse...this school has no outdoor activity and if a child has some minor issue they need a whole lot paper work from doctors and psycologist and even after that there is no action from school they not co operative I can write a whole book about how worse they are but nobody in thier right mind will send thier kids here unless you are stuck like me who's recide in this school district and moving def after this school year. WORST IN SCHOOL IN THE FIRST TOWN OF USA shame on you PCIS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Moved here 3 years ago, My son is doing fine in PCIS the teachers are very helpful, and they let you know always what is going on..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

This school I love cause the teachers and princpal is understanding and help a child in need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

My children have both attended this school and I could not be happier with the dynamics of this school. From the teachers, the academic high standards to the administrative staff. I was extremely please with our experience at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

I am in Apollo house and I couldn't have asked for a better house to be in. It is bright, the teachers are great, and they all really care about each and ever student. Being a seventh grader at PCIS is great and you get so many fun and exciting oppertunities. The 7th grade gets to go to Camp Borundale for two nights and three days as a field trip. It was the best field trip I have been on so far and many other kids would agree. I am so glad to be in this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2009

I was very fearfull about sending my boys to this school because my niece had a bad experience before they built the 2nd middle school in Plymouth (over crowded, poor grades, lost in the shuffle). Well, I am so pleasantly surprised! Teachers are great, afterschool programs are fantastic and the staff is unbelievably nice. They're in advanced classes and are doing great. They love this school and so do I. There is always room for improvement, but I have not had 1 complaint so far as we are 1/2 way into their first year here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I go here. Ranger house is the best house out of all of them. People say how horrible it is. It's not bad at all! The staff and teachers are great! They really do teach you too. I'm in all of the advanced classes too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2008

i am terrified to send my kids here, while the teachers may be doing a great job its hard to understand how kids are allowed to wear pj's to school, talk to adults the way they do. The school is soooo dirty too. while alot of the problems may be parents fault, the school needs to do a better job to make sure it does nothappen.


Posted December 23, 2007

I attended PCIS from grades 6-8 and it was and interesting experience. I had some really good teachers and of course some bad ones. If your child is a very dilligent student and a hard-worker, PCIS shouldn't be a poblem. For me 6th grade brought bad grades and slacking off. Not until the end of the 2003-2004 school year, I brought my grades up and maintained them at and A- B+ average until I moved on. I now attend Plymouth North High School and the adjustment is diffcult, but I'm getting through it. My sister now attends the Care Program at PCIS for kids with mental and slight behavioral issues.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2006

Initially, I was intimidated by the large size of PCIS, those fears quickly vanished when I was able to see how organized the teachers and school is.The school is divided into 4 'houses' that act like a 'school within a school' each 'house'has a housemaster, guidence councilor and special learning teams.Homework is posted online every night along with the weekly assignments and curriculum. The planetarium and weather station is a wonderful after school activity, not to mention sports and after/before school help/support. it seems they have all the bases covered to help children succeed. The school runs the gammett by setting realistic and challanging goals. I would reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2004

As a parent of a fifth grader, my son has just had a great year at PCIS! I was worried about the school size, etc but everything was fine. Any problems I had were dealt with swiftly and efficiently. He feels very comfortable there and had super taechers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2004

I do not think that the staff at the school takes bullying seriously. They would rather find fault with the child being bullied than than the bulliers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

Over crowded, lack of good teachers, too much of low income and behavorial problems due to low parental guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female81%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial47%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students60%
Female62%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial40%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Female86%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial67%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students50%
Female47%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracial33%
White52%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female89%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial64%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students62%
Female63%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial54%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students49%
Female45%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial55%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 67%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Black 2% 8%
Hispanic 2% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

117 Long Pond Rd
Plymouth, MA 02360
Phone: (508) 830-4450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT