Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clifford H Marshall Elementary School

Public | K-4 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

My oldest daughter is currently in her second year at Clifford Marshall. I have been impressed on all accounts. She has had wonderful teachers who stay in communication with the parents and truly demonstrate that they care about your child's education. The principal is visable, friendly and engages parents in conversation. The Marshall holds movie nights and pasta dinners to help foster a sense of community and bring families together. The children also have the opportunity to participate in extracurricular activities and programs. I was nervous about her attending this school because of the Quincy Point area, but any preconceived notion I had has been proven wrong. It seems the staff, from the janitor, lunch lady and secretary knows every child by name. I have friends whose children attend other higher ranking schools in Quincy and my daughter by far is getting more out of her education. I could go on and on, but in general as a lifelong Quincy resident I have been impressed with my daughters education and overall school experience. A principal and staff that value the student make a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

MY SON JUST STARTED STUDYING HERE . WE LOVE THIS SCHOOL. EXCELLENT STAFF THEY ARE VERY COPERATIVE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

Very Cooperative, Nice coaching with a wide range of extracurricular involvement and student friendly Totally Great School with great Principal and faculty!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Clifford Marshall School represents what a great school is all about. The teachers love their students and applaud their strengths, while helping to build up their weaknesses. It is a fabulous place to be!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 17, 2009

My son is in fourth grade. when we move from andover to here. everyone use to say why did you moved that is best school dist.i but scene is opposite here this is best school . teachers are awesome.i would say 100% this is right school. but only sad thing is they dont have after 4th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

My daughter had a great experience of school here. She is energetic, enthusiastic and always learning. Overall she is having a positive experience at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

I really think this school gets a bad rap.When I moved to this area everyone kept telling me to look into private school. My daughter is now in the second grade and I can tell you she is way ahead of my friends children and some of them live in Braintree.A+ to the teachers and all the staff at Clifford Marshall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

My daughter has had 2 fantastic teachers at the Marshall - we actually moved her from Catholic school and frankly think the education she is getting at the Marshall school is superior to the one we were paying a considerable amount for. There are a considerable amount of activities and after school programs. All of the staff have been most excellent in all of our dealings with school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

I have always been more than satisfied with the teachers and programs at Clifford Marshall Elementary School. My son is now in the Fourth Grade there, and I am only sorry that this school does not continue to the upper grades. Both my son and I will miss this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

Clifford Marshall school has been the best school for my son. They work with him one on one very well. He goes to the BGD classroom and he needs one on one. Mr. Bloomer is all ways there as a principal and the teachers are very good at with my son also Ms. Jackson and Ms. Lapointe are very good with my son when he has problems.. The staff at Clifford Marshall are always there when you have questions about your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Female59%
Male45%
African American30%
Asian70%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Title I50%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students76%
Female83%
Male70%
African American50%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Title I76%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Female73%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title I59%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students52%
Female61%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asian77%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title I52%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 36% 6%
Black 11% 8%
Hispanic 5% 16%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (617) 984-8609

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Moody St Ext
Quincy, MA 02169
Phone: (617) 984-8721

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT