Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Quincy High School 4

Posted November 20, 2015
- a student
The teachers I had were nice and taught me a lot, but there were also some teachers that weren't that good but overall, my teachers were great and so was the environment.

North Quincy High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 20, 2015
- a student
Some teachers are much more lenient with schoolwork compared to other teachers. There are teachers who would grade very strictly then there would be teachers who let kids of more easily. Most teachers that I had were the serious-working types and did their best to teach us but some teachers that my friend's had were more ready to give good grades to them.


North Quincy High School 5

Posted July 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter graduated from NQHS in 2010. As with most every school, if you work hard you will be provided with the support to excel! The results of the MCAS will reflect that the school is a high performer, and performs very well in Science. There is great access to a broad range of AP classes. Every year graduates aree accecpted to Ivy League schools, if that's your path! Parents, be engaged and support your students success! The more engaged the parent, this higher degree of success for the student! Being a public ciry school there is a broad range of students, reflecting most wals of life! This is not bleached white suburbia! But the diversity of nationality, race and income can be very positive experience for the student! At NQ if you do the work you will be prepared for success in college and in life! But you must challenge yourself and elect Honors and Advance course work!

North Quincy High School 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
Highly educated teachers make this school a gem. The student body is mostly asian and english is their second language.

North Quincy High School 3

Posted July 08, 2013
- a student
Very racially divided my time there (basically asians and non-asians) although there are some some inter-racial groups. While there are 3 levels of academic classes (standard, honors, and advanced), for the most part it is more like dumb, regular, and advanced. The students who genuinely do not care often take up most of the space in the standard classes. Honors is more of the "I care about my grades enough to try", and advanced is well, advanced. Its a good school if you want to get into a lower tier college, But if you're going for a 1st tier/higher 2nd tier, the school doesn't prepare you all that well. The number of clubs and sports the school has is good. Some teachers are hit or miss. Some are effective at teaching, and some fail to get your attention. I've noticed that the average intelligence of the incoming years are getting worse and worse, so I imagine NQHS will soon fall in rankings in the future.


North Quincy High School 5

Posted February 28, 2013
- a student
The teachers in the school are friendly and cares about the students. Great sense of security in the school. Classes move at a pace that is right for the level of the class. Only problem is the school bathrooms are usually unclean and a lot of times contain no paper towels.

North Quincy High School 1

Posted April 22, 2011
- a parent
Glad we are leaving the area and this school! Teachers allow cell phone usage in class, constant "bathroom" breaks, and think 70% is an acceptable average for a geometry class! My kids have told me there are teachers who know students can't POSSIBLY concentrate for 45 whole minutes, so they allow them to use their phones/ipods for the last 10-15 min. of class! Also, they hardly ever have homework and I've noticed mistakes on papers which weren't corrected by the teacher. Good riddance!

North Quincy High School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
My children graduated this school and my granddaughters are now attending the same school.


North Quincy High School 5

Posted March 29, 2010
- a student
It was a great experience but the inside is alittle too big and hard to find my way around the place to my classes. They also have good classes

North Quincy High School 3

Posted March 13, 2010
- a student
Pros: The size and scope of the school allows for nearly everyone to find a niche. The curriculum (in rigor) at the advanced level is very good for a public school. The three levels (standard, honors, and advanced) allow for every variety of student to be adequately challenged. The opportunities are there if you are a self-motivated student that finds the right niche. Cons: The environment is extremely unintellectual. Very few students legitimately care about academics. The diversity on paper may seem impressive, but in actuality, it is awful. The school is divided into the Asians and non-Asians, and neither of the groups associate with each other much. Some of the teachers, bluntly speaking, are awful.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Quincy High School
316 Hancock Street, Quincy, MA  02171
(617) 984-8744
Last modified North Quincy High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Quincy High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top