Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Quincy, MA
Students enrolled: 1,275
 

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Quincy High School 5

Posted July 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter graduated from NQHS in 2010. As with most every school, if you work hard you will be provided with the support to excel! The results of the MCAS will reflect that the school is a high performer, and performs very well in Science. There is great access to a broad range of AP classes. Every year graduates aree accecpted to Ivy League schools, if that's your path! Parents, be engaged and support your students success! The more engaged the parent, this higher degree of success for the student! Being a public ciry school there is a broad range of students, reflecting most wals of life! This is not bleached white suburbia! But the diversity of nationality, race and income can be very positive experience for the student! At NQ if you do the work you will be prepared for success in college and in life! But you must challenge yourself and elect Honors and Advance course work!

North Quincy High School 3

Posted July 08, 2013
- a student
Very racially divided my time there (basically asians and non-asians) although there are some some inter-racial groups. While there are 3 levels of academic classes (standard, honors, and advanced), for the most part it is more like dumb, regular, and advanced. The students who genuinely do not care often take up most of the space in the standard classes. Honors is more of the "I care about my grades enough to try", and advanced is well, advanced. Its a good school if you want to get into a lower tier college, But if you're going for a 1st tier/higher 2nd tier, the school doesn't prepare you all that well. The number of clubs and sports the school has is good. Some teachers are hit or miss. Some are effective at teaching, and some fail to get your attention. I've noticed that the average intelligence of the incoming years are getting worse and worse, so I imagine NQHS will soon fall in rankings in the future.


North Quincy High School 5

Posted February 28, 2013
- a student
The teachers in the school are friendly and cares about the students. Great sense of security in the school. Classes move at a pace that is right for the level of the class. Only problem is the school bathrooms are usually unclean and a lot of times contain no paper towels.

North Quincy High School 1

Posted April 22, 2011
- a parent
Glad we are leaving the area and this school! Teachers allow cell phone usage in class, constant "bathroom" breaks, and think 70% is an acceptable average for a geometry class! My kids have told me there are teachers who know students can't POSSIBLY concentrate for 45 whole minutes, so they allow them to use their phones/ipods for the last 10-15 min. of class! Also, they hardly ever have homework and I've noticed mistakes on papers which weren't corrected by the teacher. Good riddance!

North Quincy High School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
My children graduated this school and my granddaughters are now attending the same school.


North Quincy High School 5

Posted March 29, 2010
- a student
It was a great experience but the inside is alittle too big and hard to find my way around the place to my classes. They also have good classes

North Quincy High School 3

Posted March 13, 2010
- a student
Pros: The size and scope of the school allows for nearly everyone to find a niche. The curriculum (in rigor) at the advanced level is very good for a public school. The three levels (standard, honors, and advanced) allow for every variety of student to be adequately challenged. The opportunities are there if you are a self-motivated student that finds the right niche. Cons: The environment is extremely unintellectual. Very few students legitimately care about academics. The diversity on paper may seem impressive, but in actuality, it is awful. The school is divided into the Asians and non-Asians, and neither of the groups associate with each other much. Some of the teachers, bluntly speaking, are awful.

North Quincy High School 5

Posted February 19, 2010
- a student
This school has a girls hockey team, a dance team, and everything!


North Quincy High School 5

Posted October 24, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school full of diversity and well rounded students. The teachers and faculty are great. It would be nice to have a make over here and there, but that rarely contributes or effects the children'ts education.

North Quincy High School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The school system is amazing, clean, professional versitle and most of acedemicly perfect. Has soooooooo much to offer than any other school I looked into.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Quincy High School
316 Hancock Street, Quincy, MA  02171
(617) 984-8744
Last modified North Quincy High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Quincy High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top