Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Quincy High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2014

Great School. I have been in Quincy Public Schools for two years now. I came to Quincy High School in March of 2013. The Tech Classes are great. I am in Information Tech and Graphic and Visual Designs. The Special Education program is great with a department head who wants every student to succeed, so she gives the students the best services. The teachers are great as well as the students. Special Ed classes have a resource room with classes as big as 15 kids max and regular ed classes with 25 kids max rather than 35 - 40 kids in a class in other school systems. If you want great teachers, students and a lot of diversity. This is the school. We also have a caf with a school restaurant that you can go to at lunch. We also have a brand new facility built in 2010 . The guidance services are great and the deans are very helpful. I will recommend everyone who moves to Quincy from other places in the US. If you come from another country and don't speak English, we have a great ELL (English Language Learners) program. So I will totally recommend it!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2014

I have been at Quincy a High School for 2 years now, the Teachers are awesome and they want the best for the students, I see a lot of negative reviews about the teachers, total lie. The teachers are great, Security is great and the staff is great. Security is always on top of things about the students. The deans are wonderful, always willing to assist you. I am in Special Ed and the department is wonderful. The head wants the best for each special educated student. I am in the Vocation Technical area of the school and is nothing but great. I will recommend the school for Students who want respect, diversity and helpful staff. If you were bullied in your high school. Come here and we will respect you and help you every minute of your High School Career. Go Presidents!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2013

This school is amazing, the school has so much things that there are still some that i didn't know that they had, i read the other reviews about how the teachers don't teach and that is not true the teachers do teach, they are also amazing, and also the staff and the principal, overall this is THE school you would want to send your teen to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2012

I think it,s a good school.my son like it. he has a lot of friends .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

i is displeased with this schools lack of black love. We should allow our studients to learn about their black heritiage and their ROOTS. M child spent less then 2 weeks on African history and more then a month on Roman history this is truly outragoues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

I graduated from this school and my teenage son attends as well. I am very pleased with Quincy High School. They offer excellent options for Vocational training as well as a wonderful teaching staff! My son is a Junior and so far has had a wonderful experience in the Quincy Public Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

Teachers that don't teach, principals that don't lead, staff that doesn't know what they're doing. A brand new facility does nothing to replace horrible teachers.


Posted May 30, 2011

I can' t believe that this school only received a 3!!!! I have two kids going to the school and can not be any happier. The work load is challenging but doable. The principle has a very good handle on what is happening and probably knows each and every child by name and is often seen at all the after school activities. The school is diverse and has something for everyone. The fact that the school is brand new is the icing on the cake. My son is using a CAD system that some collages would die for. At this point I really have nothing negative to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2010

I believe this high school has improve its education level in every single way. Many people think of this school as a bad school because of its past events. However i believe that it all depends on the student, it's in their hands whether they want to have a good future or not. Also if you're thinking of becoming something that's related to science and technology i truly recommend this school. Overall this is a great school and environment for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

This comprehensive High School still respects the need for highly skilled technical and vocational employees - offering courses in areas such as Culinary Arts, Electrical, Broadcasting and Construction Technology - which not only teach theory and practices, they offer hands on, practical experience in those fields which give the students that extra edge. Recently introducing the Protective Services Course, which provides an introduction to the field of Criminal Justice and even Forensics, shows a school that has it's finger on the pulse of what careers are continuing to show a need for skilled professionals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I think the teachers are great and the courses too. I think attitude makes you! My son has been accepted readily in QHS, particiaptes in sports, and enrolled in technical programming, ie welding. To me, he is doing a great job! Despite a learning disabilty his self esteem is on top and confident. He never misses school and has more discipline & respect than some of his elders and most of his classmates. He's a leader not a follower. These characteristics are what's very important in dealing in reality & to succeed in life, not just survive. QHS helps keep his dreams alive to pursue more than just sitting around whining about what's due to him. He wants it, he'll get it and he went to QHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

students of this schools often make fun of it, but it really has a lot to offer. i've been to 4 different high schools, and QHS has by far more courses, clubs, teams and programs. the math, science, english, and arts department are top notch, and the teaching here is great quality. the teachers here genuinely care for us. also, quincy high is vey diverse both ethnicity-wise and personality-wise. you'll always find someone who has the same interests as you. the only thing about this school, that most people look down on is that it has gotten old and somewhat run-down, but believe me i've seen much worse. a new QHS is being built on the spot. also, students test scores aren't very high, which will decieve one into beleiveing it is not a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2007

Quincy High School is a very good school to me! Some people might think my words are wrong. But i think QHS is really prepared, not only for college, but also for life and career. Such as Health, Engineering (PLTW), TV, Theatre, Art...ect. The teachers are very nice, they are very patient. I like Principal Santoro, he is very wonderful! He can get along with every one! I like the years spending in QHS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2007

The academic programs are great. There are a lot of Advanced and AP (AP caters to the college exams) courses available. The school also has many extracurricular activities. These range from Philosophy Club to the Badminton Team. Parents are largely involved through the Parent Advisory Council (PAC) and Senior Night Out. The teaching staff is excellent. Everyone has a great personality and you can tell on a daily basis that they love what they do for a living (even if talks of pay-cuts and loss of benefits are about). We also have a great security system. It's not unbelievably strict, but we know that we're safe when we walk into the building in the morning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2004

this school is the best for any kind of students trying to come here!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

349 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female99%
Male88%
African American93%
Asian95%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students80%
Female80%
Male81%
African American46%
Asian90%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students70%
Female72%
Male71%
African American63%
Asian81%
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
54%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
17%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students71%
Female72%
Male71%
African American60%
Asian85%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Students77%
Femalen/a
Male83%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

60%

Average SAT score

1378

Graduation rate

86%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 27% 6%
Black 10% 8%
Hispanic 6% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

52 Coddington St
Quincy, MA 02169
Phone: (617) 984-8751

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Pilgrim Center
Braintree, MA




Thayer Academy
Braintree, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT