Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J F Kennedy Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

My son attends this school...He started out in kindergarten and after screenings was promoted to first grade...He currently excels there...He has a lot of homework and enjoys gym, art, music and library...He had a student pick on him but it was well handled by the guidance councilors. ..Overall this school has met my expectations...To exceed my expectations, I would tell them to improve the communication between teachers and parents...Having an introverted child I often have to probe for evens...I wish the teachers were more sharing...or maybe I am still in pre school mode...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

I think the school is just ok. Some of the teachers are very lay back and lack of motivation. My daughter is in 2nd grade now, I am so sad that I send her to this school because she has no class work to bring home from school. She even told me that the teachers are not doing well enough during the class and she has a lot of free time. She is not learning much as far as I know. Her daily homework is just one page with only about 5 7 math questions and it is just not enough. I wish I could afford her to a private school, so that she can get much educated and get more attention. However, most of the teachers are nice to talk to and they are not discriminated toward anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

DO NOT disrespect MY school because I've gone their all my life and I love it. I don't go their anymore because I my grade is too high. So this school is better than the other 3 elementary schools in Randolph: Donovan, Young, and Lyons. No matter what you say, Dr.Didier is gone and JFK is THE best thank you very much.


Posted December 4, 2009

This is my son's second year here. I think Dr. Didier is great, and the parking problem is solved! It's now better than it was last year. This school might get low ratings compared to other schools around Massachusetts, but the curriculem is tougher than the out-of-state schools my son has attended. I am also very impressed with my son's teacher this year, and socially my son is doing great even though he is in the minority culturally. I think there's always room for improvement, but I think the school's leadership has a plan for that and they are executing it well. I'm happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

The school was decent when Principal Connelly was there. However, the new principle, Principle Didier, has turned even the simplest of drop off/pick up procedures into chaos. She does not seem to understand children and avoids all issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

It is my sons first year at the Kennedy. He is in preschool. He will eventually be attending the lyons school. Since the override was passed in the town there has been a great turn around. The Principal is motivated energetic and in your face. I love it! She does her best to get to know parents and the children. He child is a Harvard student so she understands the commitment to being involved. I am on the PTO and we are on a mission to make it a better place. My son's preschool teacher is awesome and she writes to me everyday and keeps the lines of communication open. They are really trying. By the way there is more parent involvment thusfar. One thing to keep in mind the test scores may be lower at the school because it has the special needs program.We'll be a 10 some day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

My son attended Trinity Academy in Brockton last year. This is his first year at JFK and I have found it to be a better experience than the private school! Any issues that have come up (and with kids, there are always issues:), were handled swiftly and to our satisfaction. I am impressed with the principal and my son's teacher too. My soon is doing very well at JFK. Please note the dates on the prior reviews as some of them date back to 2006 and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

I'm sorry that the reviews are so negative. My son and daughter go there, its not great, but I think the school in general does what it can. There is an organization that ENCOURAGES PARENT INVOLVEMENT, its called the PTO. If things appear to be so negative, why not help make a difference? The school committee is also a GOOD PLACE TO DISCUSS your problems with the Randolph schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

This is my first experience at the JFK in Randolph and unfortunatly I have found that there is a lack of communication, enthusiasim and school/ home connection set forth from both the teachers as well as the administration! They do not encourage family events or particapation. I would much rather pay for private education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

The class size last year was great. This year, it is o.k. A lot of the teachers are really wonderful. The Randolph School Committee- school administration-- had made it extremely difficult for parents as a result of cutting bus service and providing it on some occasions at high costs. They have a lot of extras for the kids run by the PTO and one woman in particular. Low in safety and discipline as a result of bus policies and difficult students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2004

I have one child who went the full six years at JFK and one presently enrolled there. I have found the principal and staff to be highly quailfied and responsive to my children, my wife and I. They have provided an very good, safe environment for my children to learn and grow in. As far as the quality of education, my oldest is a member of the National Junior Honor Society and received a Presidents Academic Acheivement Award this past year. While there has been occation where I did not agree 100% with a dicipline decision made by the staff they were always responsive to me the door has never been closed. To sum it up: A enriching, high quality, education in an enjoyable safe environment is available at the JFK. However, they can not be expected to nor can they provide the most important part that being parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

I found the school to be responsive and proactive in any matter that I would bring to their attention. My child's teacher challenged him to do his best and individualized his learning experience to meet his needs. I would recommend the JFK to any parent. The key to your child's success in and out of school is that parents need to stay actively involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2003

The administration, in most situations the principal, sometimes makes poor decisions regarding her pupils. Overall i wouldn't recommend sending one of your children here if you have a choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2003

A lot of discipline problems at this school and the staff isn't at all proactive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
22%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
11%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
14%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students17%
Female29%
Male7%
African American8%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White18%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged22%
Title I17%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students46%
Female51%
Male41%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Title I46%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students18%
Female38%
Male7%
African American4%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged4%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Title I18%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students23%
Female12%
Male28%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged7%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Title I23%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Female63%
Male33%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Title I47%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students37%
Female52%
Male23%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Title I37%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students21%
Female23%
Male20%
African American12%
Asiann/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged23%
Title I21%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 8%
White 18% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 6%
Hispanic 12% 16%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (781) 961-6268

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20 Hurley Dr
Randolph, MA 02368
Phone: (781) 961-6211

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Highlands
Braintree, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT