Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Reading Memorial High School

Public | PK, 9-12 & ungraded | 1336 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2014

Very challenging classes in the upper grades for the Honors and AP students. For my freshmen, his honors classes are challenging but a few teachers still treat the students like younger children. There are numerous clubs you can join and it's very easy to start one . The Principal is new (and leaving at the end of this year) but seems to have done a good job from a parent POV. Very good communication, easily accessible and friendly. The class sizes are reasonable and since the school is about 6 years old everything is still very new and in good condition. We do wish it had AC because during those hot spells in June and Sept, the temp on the 3rd floor hits 90+ and it's hard for students to concentrate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

This school is good in the sense that it offers a lot of classes and has good resources, however the faculty is not top notch. The school has some very limiting and unnecessary rules and silly requirements that do not help the students and sometimes may hinder success. I believe if I had attended a different high school I would be better prepared for college and would have the grades to go to a better college. The school may force you to take electives that will never help you or anyone else just to fulfill their requirements. In most cases administrations would rather see you do bad in a class and hurt your chances of getting into a good college than pull you from the class in order to promote your success. I know I wouldn't send my children to this school no matter how many awards it receives.


Posted July 10, 2013

Outstanding high school that weii prepares kids for college. The curriculum, teachers and athletics are top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

This schools office is not very friendly. The School staff is not very urgent in getting back to you. Good luck if you want a bus in your area if there are no buses as you have to drive your kid to school or they have to walk in the elements with no crossing guard on Rte 129 for the High School. Their Special Needs department Chairperson is rude, elusive and hard to reach by phone or email. He does not want to help you... It is very hard to break through the walls as they want to do as little as possible for your teen in providing services. If your child has special needs, I would recommend another school district or private school as this school caters to the gifted and elite.. If you have a special needs teen and you go to this school, I assure you that you will need a lawyer to get needs met. The therapeutic class is in a small room with no windows except the one off to the back and is so crowded. They really need more paraprofessionals and help in this school and need more communication. They have a Principal who is new and takes time for all the staff to get back to you. They are getting a new Guidance Counselor and pray she is better than the unprofessional one before
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

This is the WORST school i have EVER been to! I was a new student here, and for one, MOST OF THE KIDS SMOKE POT AND DRINK. Many of them dont even care about academics and the teachers pick favorites and they just focus on their paychecks and getting through the day as fast as possible. The students are mean, snobby, and really clique-y. WORST YEAR OF MY LIFE. All they care about is parties and labels. And there arent great choices for extra-curricular activites, like there is NO cooking class! And the honors class teachers expect that you already know everything, and they get mad if you ask for help! AWFUL.


Posted December 11, 2009

I go to RMHS and it is the best school around. The teachers teach us well and they care. RMHS as many extra activities that we, student, can do to get involved with the school. The admins. tell the parents what they need to know and not just what they wanna know. Some teachers even give big extra credit projects just so students can get there grade up. The teacher also understand if you 'bombed' a test because it happens to everyone even if they are a good student. Thank you for your time and i hope you think better of my school, RMHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2009

we are new to reading and I am very impressed with the school system here we came from a school district were my daughter fell thru the crack and because of the move we now have a clear understanding of her learning disability something we would have never found unless the teachers in reading did not care enough to call it to our attention I am very happy with both coolidge and reading high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

I agree with the June 19 post. Reading has let so many children slip through the cracks. The school ignores a parent when they question what is going on. Most of the admin. people don't want to do their job and they will just tell a parent what a parent wants to hear so that the parent will go away. No one seems to have the students best interest in mind. I feel some of the people there are there only to collect a paycheck for the least amount of work possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

Reading is a great school for the independent functioning autonomous teen. The average to below average student and the student 'at risk' fall through the cracks miserably. That's a sad testimony. Where is the No Child Left Behind Act in this town?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

decent school but extremely limiting in offering advanced (or even somewhat advanced) material. recent attempts to add AP classes are well intentioned but not done in a way that it will actually be practical for the kid to take many of them... ie. all must be done senior year... similarly, has not updated its courses to include any decent buisness electives, and has zero tech/web courses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2008

My children have been very well prepared for the colleges they are attending. I feel RMHS is superior to surrounding towns
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

Wonderful school if your child is on the fast track or has special needs but lacking in support for the average student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

I am a sophomore at this school. I feel like I am receiving an overall very demanding experience, especially considering Reading's involvement in National History Day. I have never had any serious problems with teachers, and the great ones make up for the not so great ones. a few teachers are really outstanding. and I am generally very satisfied. my courses are just as challenging as those offered at the private schools nearby, and I am getting the advantages of a public school education: no tuition and less competition.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2008

I have found RMHS to be an excellent school. Two of my children have been educated there and both had great experiences, were challenged by the curriculum and had great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

All in all, RMHS is a pretty good school and I have very few complaints about the education my children have received there. I do, however, feel the English department is lacking. The majority of the teachers are simply adequate while one or two are downright dangerous. There is no AP English course offered at RMHS putting students who want to be English majors in college at a distinct disadvantage. This also impacts students who are gifted in this area by not challenging them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2004

RMHS sets high expectations for its students. Outstanding extracurricular programs include track, football, soccer, lacrosse, band, and drama. Expect to pay participation fees for sports and other activities. Parent volunteer support is encouraged. RMHS sends as many graduates to major universities as do most private schools, and RMHS students are often mistaken for private school students due to dress, behavior, and interests. My three kids were well prepared for college due to the demanding and thorough academic program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students90%
Female89%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students86%
Female92%
Male82%
African American60%
Asian84%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

95%

Average SAT score

1653

Graduation rate

97%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 68%
Asian 3% 6%
Black 3% 8%
Hispanic 2% 15%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

62 Oakland Rd
Reading, MA 01867
Phone: (781) 944-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT