Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK, 9-12 & Ungraded
Public district
Reading, MA
Students enrolled: 1,362
 

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Reading Memorial High School 4

Posted February 22, 2014
- a parent
Very challenging classes in the upper grades for the Honors and AP students. For my freshmen, his honors classes are challenging but a few teachers still treat the students like younger children. There are numerous clubs you can join and it's very easy to start one . The Principal is new (and leaving at the end of this year) but seems to have done a good job from a parent POV. Very good communication, easily accessible and friendly. The class sizes are reasonable and since the school is about 6 years old everything is still very new and in good condition. We do wish it had AC because during those hot spells in June and Sept, the temp on the 3rd floor hits 90+ and it's hard for students to concentrate.

Reading Memorial High School 3

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
This school is good in the sense that it offers a lot of classes and has good resources, however the faculty is not top notch. The school has some very limiting and unnecessary rules and silly requirements that do not help the students and sometimes may hinder success. I believe if I had attended a different high school I would be better prepared for college and would have the grades to go to a better college. The school may force you to take electives that will never help you or anyone else just to fulfill their requirements. In most cases administrations would rather see you do bad in a class and hurt your chances of getting into a good college than pull you from the class in order to promote your success. I know I wouldn't send my children to this school no matter how many awards it receives.


Reading Memorial High School 5

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
Outstanding high school that weii prepares kids for college. The curriculum, teachers and athletics are top notch!

Reading Memorial High School 2

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
This schools office is not very friendly. The School staff is not very urgent in getting back to you. Good luck if you want a bus in your area if there are no buses as you have to drive your kid to school or they have to walk in the elements with no crossing guard on Rte 129 for the High School. Their Special Needs department Chairperson is rude, elusive and hard to reach by phone or email. He does not want to help you... It is very hard to break through the walls as they want to do as little as possible for your teen in providing services. If your child has special needs, I would recommend another school district or private school as this school caters to the gifted and elite.. If you have a special needs teen and you go to this school, I assure you that you will need a lawyer to get needs met. The therapeutic class is in a small room with no windows except the one off to the back and is so crowded. They really need more paraprofessionals and help in this school and need more communication. They have a Principal who is new and takes time for all the staff to get back to you. They are getting a new Guidance Counselor and pray she is better than the unprofessional one before

Reading Memorial High School 2

Posted July 29, 2010
- a community member
This is the WORST school i have EVER been to! I was a new student here, and for one, MOST OF THE KIDS SMOKE POT AND DRINK. Many of them dont even care about academics and the teachers pick favorites and they just focus on their paychecks and getting through the day as fast as possible. The students are mean, snobby, and really clique-y. WORST YEAR OF MY LIFE. All they care about is parties and labels. And there arent great choices for extra-curricular activites, like there is NO cooking class! And the honors class teachers expect that you already know everything, and they get mad if you ask for help! AWFUL.


Reading Memorial High School 5

Posted December 11, 2009
- a student
I go to RMHS and it is the best school around. The teachers teach us well and they care. RMHS as many extra activities that we, student, can do to get involved with the school. The admins. tell the parents what they need to know and not just what they wanna know. Some teachers even give big extra credit projects just so students can get there grade up. The teacher also understand if you 'bombed' a test because it happens to everyone even if they are a good student. Thank you for your time and i hope you think better of my school, RMHS.

Reading Memorial High School 0
no rating

Posted June 24, 2009
- a parent
we are new to reading and I am very impressed with the school system here we came from a school district were my daughter fell thru the crack and because of the move we now have a clear understanding of her learning disability something we would have never found unless the teachers in reading did not care enough to call it to our attention I am very happy with both coolidge and reading high school.

Reading Memorial High School 1

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
I agree with the June 19 post. Reading has let so many children slip through the cracks. The school ignores a parent when they question what is going on. Most of the admin. people don't want to do their job and they will just tell a parent what a parent wants to hear so that the parent will go away. No one seems to have the students best interest in mind. I feel some of the people there are there only to collect a paycheck for the least amount of work possible.


Reading Memorial High School 0
no rating

Posted June 19, 2008
- a parent
Reading is a great school for the independent functioning autonomous teen. The average to below average student and the student 'at risk' fall through the cracks miserably. That's a sad testimony. Where is the No Child Left Behind Act in this town?

Reading Memorial High School 3

Posted May 20, 2008
- a student
decent school but extremely limiting in offering advanced (or even somewhat advanced) material. recent attempts to add AP classes are well intentioned but not done in a way that it will actually be practical for the kid to take many of them... ie. all must be done senior year... similarly, has not updated its courses to include any decent buisness electives, and has zero tech/web courses.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Reading Memorial High School
62 Oakland Rd, Reading, MA  01867
(781) 944-8200
Last modified Reading Memorial High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Reading Memorial High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top