Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Abraham Lincoln

Public | PK-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2013

Im very very disappointed on how the teachers (adults) would act towards their students. Not very supportive or encouraging. Very unhappy and would suggest to choose another option for your childs school placement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2010

My experience with the Lincoln is being well below my expectations, language and behavior of my child's teacher make me worry ! a teacher who never use thank you, or please ... and many other attitudes, it does not deserve to be working with k's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I need advise. Lincoln or McKinley who has the better scores and teacher / child ratio? My kids are in 1st & 2nd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

very nice school......i thinks teachers r doing very good job......& my son have benefited in many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

The administrators and teachers at the Lincoln School are doing an outstanding job educating our children. My son is in the first grade and he loves his teacher and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

i think the principal should be removed from the school i think she is doing a terible job and the assistant principal should be removed to shes very rood
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

I have not one bad thing to say about this school or the teachers my son is in 5th grade, this is his last year here, and he is very sad over having to leave his teacher this school has helped my son grow in so many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2005

Both my son and daughter are students at this school and have been for the past three years. Our family has had nothing but a positive learning experience at the Lincoln. The PTA is outstanding, the teachers are committed and our new principal is a wonderful leader and has worked very hard to make this elementary school the best in the district. I know that my children are receiving a great education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

My son is going into the sixth grade, started here in kindergarten. The teachers and administrators have always been responsive to our concerns and go out of their way to keep in touch regarding my son's overall education. The school emphasizes its 'Respect Core,' which is a program designed to develop responsible citizenship within the school community. I have been a substitute teacher in all of Revere's school. Having seen them from the inside, I am convinced my son is in the finest school in the district. I have a second son who will be entering kindergarten next year. I have no reservations about his going to the Lincoln. There is one wild card that will be interesting to watch. Principal McDonough has retired after a very succesful tenure. There are bound to be changes with the new principal. Our hope is that this will lead to an even finer environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students37%
Female28%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Title I37%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners7%

Math

All Students44%
Female44%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Title I44%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners20%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Female47%
Male36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Title I42%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students39%
Female38%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Title I39%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Female78%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title I76%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students41%
Female41%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Title I41%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students46%
Female48%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Title I46%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 67%
Hispanic 38% 16%
Black 5% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (781) 286-8315

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

68 Tuckerman St
Revere, MA 02151
Phone: (781) 286-8270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

William Mckinley
Revere, MA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT